Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2011, 01:51 PM
BGP BGP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
shortcut for ctrl shift 6 x

fellows,

i am ccie candidate. have own ccie rack.my home lab is

CISCO ACCESS SERVER2511
and 3 2600 Router series

my question is how can i shortcut ctrl shift 6 x in one command like type F1 or F2 or whatever to use it when i am jumping between my router


i just want to shortcut this command to make my process in typing fast and easy


i am using securecret v 5.5


please explain in step by step becuse i am new in this


thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:22 PM
BGP BGP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Please help me on this

I got sick of this issue
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:29 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,530
Hello BGP,

SecureCRT version 5.5 is pretty old. You might want to check your upgrade eligibility on our website here.

Quote:
my question is how can i shortcut ctrl shift 6 x in one command like type F1 or F2 or whatever to use it when i am jumping between my router
The SecureCRT Help file includes the following topics that can help increase your understanding of how to map keys in SecureCRT:
  • Dialogs - Session Options Dialog - Terminal - Terminal/Emulation/Mapped Keys
  • Configuring the Keyboard - Customizing a Keymap
  • Configuring the Keyboard - ASCII Control Codes
  • Configuring the Keyboard - Send String And Function Key Commands
To map Control+Shift+6 then x, use the Session Options / Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys interface (press the "Map a Key..." button, press the key you wish to map (F1 or F2), then select "Send String" and supply a Send String value of \036\px.

Note also that this question has been asked and answered in this forum thread.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by bgagnon; 10-19-2011 at 08:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:59 PM
BGP BGP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
hi thank you for replay

but i can't found Session Options where can i found it


excuse me but i am so new in using securcrt


when i finish this issue I'll upgrade my version
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:08 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,530
Hello BGP,

From the Options menu, select Session Options ....
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2011, 06:09 PM
BGP BGP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
hi



it's working fine now looooooooooooooooool



really i am very grateful for you



thank you very much your replay was very useful
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2011, 08:36 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,530
Hi BGP,

You're quite welcome.

Thanks for posting that you were able to successfully implement the keymap configuration.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2014, 02:48 AM
rich3119 rich3119 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Hi There

I know many people have written about this before and Brenda your post is pretty comprehensive BUT .. I am still none the wiser as to what I am doing here.

If I go where bgagnon states above I get to key mappings :
I do the following :
1) Hit Map a Key - its says 'using keyboard press and wait' etc etc
2) I hold CTRL + SHITF + 6
I get this Ctrl-Shift-ASCIICIRCUM - this appears in keyboard combination
3) Function is set to 'Send String'

what now ... ?

Its obviously very simple as I can read frustration from those who know how to do this BUT .. I am still lost as to what I do next or how to activate it once set ?

PLEASE spell it out for the total beginners ....... I have no idea what I am doing here ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2014, 07:49 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,530
Hi all,

Rich also contacted us via email and I responded.

I am attaching a screenshot to help clarify the issue for others.

My understanding is that, in most cases, Ctrl+Shift+6 by itself (from the keyboard) does not send the right thing, so most that contact us about this are instead mapping the entire sequence to some other available key (such as F2, F3, etc.) so that they can send the entire sequence (Ctrl+Shift+6+x) with one keystroke.

My screenshot shows this mapped to F5 in SecureCRT/Windows, but the process should be exactly the same for SecureCRT/Mac. The only thing to be aware of on Mac OS if you map to a function key, is that on some laptops, that means also pressing the Fn key to send what's mapped to the function key.
Attached Images
File Type: png cisco_ctrl-shift-6-x_combo.png (44.3 KB, 680 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.