Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:23 AM
Killing Killing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 87
SecureCRT 6.2 Beta 3 - Key Manager Performance Regression?

Since upgrading from 6.0 to 6.2 Beta 3 I've been seeing issue here with some of our rollout scripts.

These scripts use extensive use of ssh agent forwarding in a parallel manor so can be request 20+ key request per second.

The problem exhibits its self by instead of authenticating the onward connection like it should our scripts are prompting to passwords, as though the agent request failed when it shouldn't. Repeating the request to just that machine in a none parallel manor always succeeds so its not a problem with the keys itself.

The SecureCRT upgrade is the only change in the environment I wondering if the key manager has been changed in anyway which could be causing the issues we are seeing.

P.S. Loving the memory footprint improvements in 6.2 80Mb vs 800Mb makes a world of difference
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2009, 11:50 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hello Killing,

Could you please explain further what you mean by "ssh agent forwarding in a parallel manner"?

How are you launching the initial connection?

How are you adding keys to the agent?

SecureCRT 6.2 includes better agent support in the Activator. You can access this feature by right-clicking on the SecureCRT icon when minimized to the Activator. There is a "manage Agent Keys..." option available.

Could pre-loading the keys in this manner solve the issue you are experiencing?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2009, 05:21 AM
Killing Killing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 87
To answer your questions:-

Keys are added by the initial connection to the server which is a straight securecrt window.

Only one key is in use which is already preloaded.

The parallel comes in as the script on the server when run forks 10 sub processes which then each use ssh to execute processes on remote machines. This obviously requires the securecrt key manager to respond to each request.

Its this process that seems to have regressed. Either securecrt is no longer answering quick enough or is not answering at all causing some of the sessions to fall back to interactive authentication and prompt for a password.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2009, 01:32 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi Killing,

I am going to submit this information to the development team for investigation.

They are better equipped to know if the improvements that were made to agent handling in SecureCRT 6.2 could be the cause of the regression you are reporting.

Please bear with me, I will post here when I have further information.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2009, 01:50 PM
Killing Killing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 87
Thanks Brenda if you need any more information or help testing just give me a shout as this would be a show stopper here and I really want the memory improvements in 6.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2009, 05:55 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi Killing,

Could you please provide Trace Options output?

To enable trace options output:
  1. First, open SecureCRT's main "File" pull-down menu and select "Trace Options". If you open the "File" pull down menu again you should see a checkmark next to "Trace Options", indicating that troubleshooting output is now enabled.
  2. Next, connect to the remote machine. With trace options enabled, you will notice debugging information displayed in the terminal window that isn't normally there by default when SecureCRT is attempting to establish a connection, and at certain times throughout the lifetime of the connection.
  3. Once the problem occurs, please right-click inside the terminal window and choose "Select All", then right-click again and choose "Copy" to transfer the information to the Windows clipboard.
  4. Finally, open a text editor like 'Notepad', paste the information from the Windows clipboard into the editor program, and save it as a text file. Then send it to me as an e-mail attachment.
Also can you provide the script (or scripts) you're using to make these connections (or a specific example of what the scripts do)?

Due to the sensitive nature of these items, please send via e-mail to support@vandyke.com with "Attn Brenda - forum thread 3507" in the subject line.

Thanks,
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2009, 04:39 PM
mdella's Avatar
mdella mdella is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotts Valley, CA
Posts: 44
Finding agent information...

I looked for the agent that was referred in the first response to this msg and was unable to find the menu that you are referring to. I'm using 6.2.1

Trying to delete keys from the agent, rearrange order, etc.

Marcos
__________________
Marcos Della
Data Center Cloud Architect
Nutanix

PGP Fingerprint: BDC7 AFFD E94F FA09 C839 9153 F5FF E128 3094 2B9E
Key ID: 0x30942B9E
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2009, 05:05 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,636
Hi mdella,

The session can be minimized to the 'Activator' from the 'General' category of SecureCRT's Global Options. This option (Minimize to Activator in the system tray) is also configurable on a session level in the 'Terminal' category of SecureCRT's Session Options.

Then, when you "right-click" on the SecureCRT icon in the Activator, you will see a context menu with 'Manage Agent Keys...' as one of the options.

See the attached screenshot.

From within the 'Manage Agent Keys' dialog box, you may 'Add...' and 'Remove' keys.
Attached Images
File Type: gif activator.gif (9.0 KB, 501 views)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 AM.