Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:05 AM
igor_rodri igor_rodri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Change FTP sites settings on campus

Hello all,

We've got quite a few machines running SecureFX and we're migrating our proxy server.

I'd like to know if there's a way to modify the settings of the FTP sites our users are connecting to so that it changes automatically the Firewall settings on our clients. Does this exist? Is it possible?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Best regards,

Igor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:49 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Igor,

Thanks for the post. We have a tip for editing multiple sessions at a time at the following location:
http://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/defaultset.html
You could also use the following tip if you don't want to edit all sessions at the same time:
http://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/multisessions.html
Do either of these options help you accomplish your goal?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2014, 04:36 AM
igor_rodri igor_rodri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Thanks rtb, I hadn't seen the post.

I'll check it and let you know if that fits our needs.

Best regards,

Igor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2014, 05:27 AM
igor_rodri igor_rodri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Hello Todd,

those tips are fine, but, is there any posibility of editting a configuration file to do this? Or even editing on one computer and then exporting a config file from there and apply it on other computers?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Best regards,

Igor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2014, 08:32 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Igor,

It is possible to edit the INI file. Can you tell me what problem you are trying to solve by using the INI file rather than editing the sessions using the tips?

It is possible to copy a configuration folder and move it to another machine. Here is a tip that illustrates how to backup a configuration folder:
http://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/backupsessions.html
This same concept can be used to move a configuration folder.

Does this help?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2014, 12:17 AM
igor_rodri igor_rodri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Hello Todd,

I think this could help. I'll change the configuration in 1 computer and then copy the configuration on all other computers in our company.

The issue was that I'll have to do it in a bunch of computers (not just 2 or 3), so I wanted more of an automatic way of deploying the changes on our campus.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Best regards,

Igor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2014, 08:41 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Igor,

Thanks for the update. There are other methods you might use to accomplish your goal.

Please send an email message to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Attn: Todd - forum thread #11437 and we can discuss what options are available to you for deployment.

Please include the serial number for your SecureCRT license in the body of the email message.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 PM.