Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:46 AM
Queue Queue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Filtering Output from a device

Hello,

I am working with a device that doesn't support filtering the output
(like | grep in unix , or | inc |beg in a cisco device).

I would like to make a script (or any other suggestion you may think of) that will enable me to do so.

maybe something like in secureCRT capturing the user input (with the pipe and args) and sending the input to the device without the pipe and args. and then get the output from the device into a temp buffer, manipulate it by filtering out data according to the input args, and then printing it on screen.

this is what I was able to come up with, but I dont know if thsi is the optimal way. and also I'm not sure how to do so.

Thanks,
Queue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:07 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi Queue,

We have an example script that may do what you are trying to accomplish. It may be necessary to modify the script to meet you specific needs.

I have also added this form thread #3346 to a feature request for the ability to filter data shown on the screen. If this feature is implemented in a future release of SecureCRT, we will post to this forum thread.

If you would like to be notified directly, please fill out this form referencing this thread in the body of the request.
Attached Files
File Type: txt UseIEAsCustomDialog.txt (14.5 KB, 269 views)
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2008, 01:45 AM
Queue Queue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks a lot,
I will look at this script,
and will check this thread for updates on the feature request.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:00 AM
Queue Queue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
This is actually not what I was looking for...

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:20 AM
kbarnette kbarnette is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 587
Hi Queue,

We have another example script that may be a little more specific to what it is you have described. I have attached this example script.

As an explanation, the script uses VBScript regular expressions to search the SecureCRT output for certain patterns, and then only displays the lines that match those patterns in the custom IE window.

Please note that this is meant to be a rough workaround since the feature is not currently available in SecureCRT.

Is the example script I provided helpful?
Attached Files
File Type: txt UseIEAsListOutput.vbs.txt (6.5 KB, 324 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2009, 03:05 AM
Queue Queue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
yes

yes it does.
thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.