VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:54 PM
rmount rmount is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Function Keys busted after upgrade

Greetings,

Somewhere after SecureCRT Beta 1 (as near as i can remember) function keys broke for me.

I've got a program called "mc" (Midnight commander http://www.ibiblio.org/mc/). It relies on the function keys to operate.

Connecting to RedHat 9, CentOS 3.4, and Fedora Core 3 systems broke the use of function keys. Emulation is set for UTF-8 in all cases as the default.

I can never duplicate the fix, but changing emulation to "Default" and the font to "Terminal" sometimes fixes it (but makes ASCII line characters look really ugly). Sometimes emulation as "None" does the trick. But there's never one fix that does it for all my saved sessions.
  #2  
Old 05-31-2005, 04:04 PM
dcomo's Avatar
dcomo dcomo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 124
Send a message via AIM to dcomo
rmount,

In the meantime, you can use the ESC+number to duplicate the functionality.
I agree that it is not as convienient as press F1, F2, etc., however it does work.
(ie. Press ESC, release then press 5 does a copy, etc.)

I personally don't use my function keys in MC as I have them mapped to other
things, so I use the ESC tactic for the functionality.
__________________
Drew J. Como
Highland Visuals & Graphic Design
  #3  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:06 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmount
Greetings,

Somewhere after SecureCRT Beta 1 (as near as i can remember) function keys broke for me.

I've got a program called "mc" (Midnight commander http://www.ibiblio.org/mc/). It relies on the function keys to operate.

Connecting to RedHat 9, CentOS 3.4, and Fedora Core 3 systems broke the use of function keys. Emulation is set for UTF-8 in all cases as the default.

I can never duplicate the fix, but changing emulation to "Default" and the font to "Terminal" sometimes fixes it (but makes ASCII line characters look really ugly). Sometimes emulation as "None" does the trick. But there's never one fix that does it for all my saved sessions.
If you set the emulation to Linux or Xterm, do the function keys work correctly? Also, on the Emulation page, is the "Select an alternate keyboard emulation" checked?

Maureen
  #4  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:04 AM
rmount rmount is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maureen
If you set the emulation to Linux or Xterm, do the function keys work correctly? Also, on the Emulation page, is the "Select an alternate keyboard emulation" checked?
I was already set at Linux with no alternate keyboard emulation set. Moving to Xterm made no difference.

So I switched back to Linux, checked then unchecked "alternate keyboard emulation" and the problem is gone for the particular profile i'm using. This "fix" seems about the same as my current "fix" which is to switch the encoding and display font around until i find a working combination. It's very strange.
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 AM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.