Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2012, 10:30 PM
katanaman katanaman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Cool SecureCRT With Access Server And Tabs

I connect my PC to 28 Cisco devices via a USB/Serial convertor console cable to my Access Server (a 2811 Router which has a NM-32A module installed in it with four octal cables).

I purchased SecureCRT today with the hope that I could setup SecureCRT to allow me to easily create tabs near the top of the screen so I could then simply go from one device to another by clicking on the appropriate tab for it.

I am hoping that someone else here has found out if / how this can be set up.

There has to be a better way than pressing CTRL-SHIFT-6 and then X to move from one device to another!

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:19 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi katanaman,

Thanks for the question. The limitation you are facing is one resulting from the type of connection you are using to connect to your Access Server.

If you want to have SecureCRT be able to use tabs to connect to multiple devices which are connected to an access server, it would be necessary to use a protocol that allows multiple simultaneous connections like Telnet or SSH2.

The Serial protocol allows a single connection by definition.

Are you able to connect to the Access Server using Telnet?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730

Last edited by rtb; 12-10-2012 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2012, 04:31 PM
katanaman katanaman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Smile Thanks For Your Reply. I Have Now Solved It..

Here is a link that shows how to setup reverse telnet using SecureCRT with tabs! Very convenient. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01rQguSGFrg

What the fantastic (but not 100% complete) youtube video does not specifically mentioned is..

1. You connect to the Access Server with the console cable in the usual way.

2. You connect to the devices (attached to the Access Server) via a fastethernet port on the Access Server. i.e. a fastethernet cable between your PC, running SecureCRT, and the Access Server.

3. The fastethernet port on the Access Server must be in the same subnet as your PC and be pingable.

4. The hostname in the SecureCRT setup for each device connected to the Access Server is the IP address of the fastethernet port on the Access Server.

5. The port in the SecureCRT setup for each device connected to the Access Server is the 20XX port number listed on the Access Server. i.e 2066-2097 if you are using a NM-32A module in your router like me.

I hope this helps some other trying to set this up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2012, 10:22 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
You are welcome katanaman.

Thanks for posting the details of how you accomplished your goal. I am sure they will be helpful for others in the future.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2014, 08:09 AM
qatarfool qatarfool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Smile SercureCRT Tabs Reverse Telnet

Thank you so much
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.