Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2012, 11:30 AM
dimension6 dimension6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
CTRL shortcuts not working

Hello,

I am running SecureCRT 7.0.2 on a fully updated Mac (OS 10.8.2), and am having some trouble getting any Control key shortcuts working (I use these heavily when configuring our Cisco equipment). They seem to function as application shortcuts rather than terminal client shortcuts. For example, CTRL+A should move to the start of the line, but instead selects all text. CTRL+K opens up Quick Connect rather than clear all text from the cursor onward.

Is there some either global or OS setting that can solve this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2012, 11:51 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
dimension6,

Can you double check that you're pressing Ctrl, not the Command key?
Command-A selects all in SecureCRT for OS X.

Command-K opens Quick Connect in SecureCRT for OS X.
Can you describe the keyboard (i.e.: is it an external keyboard, perhaps PC keyboard, plugged into a Macbook Pro, or something like that)?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2012, 12:05 PM
dimension6 dimension6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
My keyboard is a relatively new Apple USB keyboard with numpad, and I am indeed pressing the control key rather than the command key (they seem to perform the same function).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2012, 01:17 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
They shouldn't perform the same function. If you open another application, such as Safari, or Terminal, can you press Cmd-A and Ctrl-A, and see if both actions select all for you?

Did you copy sessions from SecureCRT on Windows, or is this a new installation and new session?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2012, 01:43 PM
dimension6 dimension6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
I don't have this issue in other applications (for example, all CTRL functions work properly in Terminal). I did copy the sessions over from a Windows machine, but have also tested by creating a completely new configuration folder.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2012, 02:16 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
If you use Quick Connect you see the same problem, right?

If so, could you send your SecureCRT Default.ini file and Global.ini file to support@vandyke.com, with subject Forum Thread 10799 Attn Mike?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2012, 04:01 PM
dimension6 dimension6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
The requested files have been sent. I also have the issue when using Quick Connect.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2012, 06:51 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Thank you - we received the files. I will run some tests and let you know...
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:04 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Following further investigation with dimension6 via e-mail, the problem with the Control key behaving like the Command key appears to be related to which Input Source is selected in Mac System Preferences / Language & Text.

If Kotoeri / Romaji is selected, the problem appears. So far Romaji is the only language I've seen that has this effect (so a different Input Source language such as Kotoeri / Hiragana appears to be a workaround).

We have asked our developers to investigate and will post a follow up message to this thread if there's a fix or further explanation.

If anyone else experiences a problem with the Control key behaving like Command, please let us know and refer to forum thread 10799.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]

Last edited by miked; 12-18-2012 at 05:21 PM. Reason: typo: of -> if
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2013, 03:11 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Problem solved

For those following this forum thread, we have received confirmation from customers that this problem is resolved in version 7.1 and newer.

SecureCRT 7.1 is currently available as a pre-release by request. If you experience the problem with the Control key behaving like the Command key in SecureCRT on Mac OS X, and would like to try 7.1, please let us know.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-05-2013, 08:36 PM
ACX's Avatar
ACX ACX is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Ctrl-w

Hi, I'm using 7.1 beta 3 on Mac but CTRL-W (to clip previos word in bash shell) does not work while other CTRL shortcuts (like CTRL-A, CTRL-E, etc.) work as expected. I'm trying 7.1 beta because I have read this post and I had the same problem with CTRL-W in 7.0.3.
How can I fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2013, 10:53 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
ACX,

Have you changed the Input Source setting on your Mac, in System Preferences / Language & Text?

Are you experiencing problems with any other Control-key combinations?

If not, and if all other Control-key combinations are working, I believe your problem is unrelated to the one described in this thread and we should continue working on the issue in the other forum thread where you posted about the issue.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-2013, 06:20 PM
Dennett Dennett is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Ctrl-shortcuts still not working

Hi,

I'm using SecureCRT V 7.1.0(build 244) on OS X 10.8.3 with PL2303 USB to Serial adapter.

As per other users, I need this for configuration of routers, switches etc, but none of the Ctrl shortcuts work.

I have read and tried all the previous suggestions on this forum but still no joy.

This connection and all Ctrl shortcuts work just fine in every other terminal application I have tried. iTerm, terminal, ZOC, iTerm 2.

This behaviour is only evident in SecureCRT.

This is very frustrating as SecureCRT is my preferred app.

Please help.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-08-2013, 10:17 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Dennett,

Can you provide more information about some of the specific Ctrl shortcuts you have tried in SecureCRT and what the expected results were?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2013, 12:22 AM
Dennett Dennett is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Ctrl key sequences

Ctrl-Y is the key seq required to start the configuration of a new Nortel switch from the console (for example)

Nothing happens at all when I press Ctrl-Y, cannot go any further into switch config to try other sequences.

Ctrl-N and Ctrl-P move one page Next and Previous

Ctrl-R return to previous menu

If I change terminal app (iTerm for example) and hit Ctrl-Y, it takes me to the Nortel menu

I close the iTerm and re open SecureCRT, now the other Ctrl seq's above fail. Nothing at all seems to be sent to the console as there is zero response.

All these work fine from the same Mac with the same hardware from other terminal apps. Just fail in SecureCRT.

Cheers...


Quote:
Originally Posted by miked View Post
Dennett,

Can you provide more information about some of the specific Ctrl shortcuts you have tried in SecureCRT and what the expected results were?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 PM.