Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:32 PM
etexter etexter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Any resolution

I just stumbled upon this issue now and was curious if any resolution was ever posted.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-17-2006, 03:22 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Hello etexter.

Posts number 11 and 12 of this thread indicate the change
you can make to your Global.ini file to fix the problem.
You should be able to edit your Global.ini file so that the
following line looks like this:

S:"Clipboard Data Format"=CF_TEXT

That apparently worked for zorglups in version 5.1 Beta 2,
but it stopped working when he upgraded to 5.1.2 official.
We asked him to send e-mail to us at support@vandyke.com,
which he did, but the thread fell off after that. We had
been waiting for some files from him, but we didn't receive
them. I don't know if that means the problem still exists
for him or not.

If you edit your Global.ini file for the latest version,
does it fix the problem for you?

Thank you
JJH
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-17-2006, 04:43 PM
etexter etexter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Doesn't fix it

I sent an email to support with some screenshots of exactly what I see.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-17-2006, 04:51 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Thanks for letting us know. I'll look for it.

Thanks

JJH
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:19 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
We received the screenshots via e-mail and we'll post
something here as well as reply via e-mail when this has
been fixed.

JJH
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-18-2007, 09:43 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,099
FYI, some of you may come across this forum thread looking for a solution to similar behavior where you copy text from one Windows application (such as MS Word, or a web browser), then paste into SecureCRT and characters such as quotes or hyphens don't look the same as they appeared in the other application from which they were copied.

As of SecureCRT 5.2 a feature now exists that upon pasting into SecureCRT, certain "look-alike" characters will be converted to their basic 7-bit ASCII equivalents.

The solution involves editing SecureCRT's Global.ini file and modifying the "Clipboard Data Format" value line to look like this (make sure you close all instances of SecureCRT prior to editing the Global.ini file) :
S:"Clipboard Data Format"=VDS_TEXT
With the Clipboard Data Format specified as VDS_TEXT, the following converstions will occur upon pasting text into SecureCRT that was copied from another Windows application:
  • left quotation mark: (0x93 U+201C) is converted to a standard quotation mark: " (0x22 U+0022)
  • right quotation mark: (0x94 U+201D) is converted to standard quotation mark: " (0x22 U+0022)
  • en dash: (0x96 U+2013) is converted to hyphen: - (0x2D U+002D)
  • em dash: (0x97 U+2014) is converted to hyphen: - (0x2D U+002D)
In summary, if you want smart quotes and dash-hyphen look-alikes converted into their 7-bit ASCII equivalents, the VDS_TEXT clipboard data format should work for you.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.