Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2014, 06:08 PM
Portugal Portugal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Cannot send break Key to Cisco switches Secure CRT 7.2.6

Good evening.

I installed SecureCRT 7.2.6, I cannot enter ROMMON in any of my cisco switches (using an Aten UC232A adaptor. I don't know why it's not sending the break key, like it always have done...

What settings do I need to enable in order to do it? It's urgent.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2014, 07:17 PM
Portugal Portugal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Forget it, I don't know what I was thinking, trying to send break key to a switch...

Everything works fine :-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2014, 07:25 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,212
Hi Portugal,

If the issue is resolved, that's great.

But I am not sure what you mean by this comment:

Quote:
Forget it, I don't know what I was thinking, trying to send break key to a switch...
As we have heard from customers needing to do that.

Just so you know, on the Mac, serial connections are extremely dependent on having a valid, up-to-date driver that supports the OS.

Since it is often difficult to find on vendor websites, feel free to share any info if you had to go to any extraordinary lengths to get a valid, current driver for a certain device.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2014, 02:16 PM
Portugal Portugal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Hi Portugal,

If the issue is resolved, that's great.

But I am not sure what you mean by this comment:



As we have heard from customers needing to do that.

Just so you know, on the Mac, serial connections are extremely dependent on having a valid, up-to-date driver that supports the OS.

Since it is often difficult to find on vendor websites, feel free to share any info if you had to go to any extraordinary lengths to get a valid, current driver for a certain device.
Hello bgagnon.

You don't send break keys to some Cisco Switches models, namely the 2960 (you don't have ROMMON on this models), that's why I was not able to enter in ROMMON ... It doesn't exist on the device I was trying to do it

You only send break keys to Cisco Routers (and I tested it yesterday, it worked perfectly well - As soon as I sent a break key (CTRL+Break), it (the router) immediately entered in ROMMON.

In order to perform a password recovery on a switch, you simply hold the MODE button, reload the switch, keep holding the button until it starts the password recovery procedure... I've done it countless times, I really don't know why I was trying to enter in ROMMON.

Here is a Cisco link of how to perform password recovery on the 2950 series --> http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support...ec-2900xl.html

As a USB to PS2 converter, I've an Aten UC232A, it's the best converter in my opinion, never let me down. Aten is always updating the drivers and so on --> http://www.aten.com/products/product...A#.VIIf9zGsVjR

Regarding the OS, I was using Windows 7 and tried in Windows 8 as well, everything worked as it should.

Best regards.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.