Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2017, 01:02 PM
Chris2NyCE Chris2NyCE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Question Quick Button Bar 'string' question

Trying to set up a few buttons that run authentication commands/passwords for things such as SSH or Enable mode.

I create a sting command of: en\r\p 7@11big!!b|ue \r
(Example password)

It starts enable, but fails to authenticate as i dont think its entering in the type i provided.

Ive tried "7@11big!!b|ue" or '7@11big!!b|ue' to make sure it doesnt think its running a shortkey, but it still fails.

What string do i need to enter to make it

>Enable
enter
>7@11big!!b|ue
enter

I know im probably missing something small
  #2  
Old 04-21-2017, 01:23 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi Chris2NyCE,

It looks like the issue may be with spaces. It appears for readability you've added some spaces. SecureCRT sends the literal string so you password is being entered as " 7@11big!!b|ue " with a preceding and trailing space.

If you change your string to en\r\p7@11big!!b|ue\r does this change the behavior?

Another issue would crop up of you are using \ in your password. Because this is a special character you need to escape it. This is done by doubling it up like \\. So a password of p4SS\w0rd become p4SS\\w0rd.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
  #3  
Old 04-21-2017, 01:26 PM
Chris2NyCE Chris2NyCE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
See now i feel dumb

Removing the spaces on one and doubling the characters fixed both passwords.

Appreciate the help!!!
  #4  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:00 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi Chris2NyCE,

I'm glad to hear you are able to get them working.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the button bar stores all its strings in plain text in the button bar .ini file. Navigating to your Config folder and opening ButtonBarV4.ini in notepad will reveal these passwords....

Have a great weekend and don't hesitate to reach out if you have any other questions.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Closed Thread

Tags
bar , button , command , string


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 PM.