Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:09 PM
sammax82 sammax82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Hostname lookup failed: host not found

Hi ,
I recently upgraded system to Window 10 I am using Secure CRT 7.2.5 and unable to connect to any host via the GUI i get an error "Hostname lookup failed: host not found" immediately.

I am able to connect via CLI to the same host I get the prompt to accept and save the hostkey.

But If I try to connect to same host again via the GUI neither does it prompt for the hostkey nor does it connect instead i just get an error "Hostname lookup failed: host not found"


Thanks
Samit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:42 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 654
Hi sammax82,

SecureCRT uses the Operating System to resolve DNS. It would be unusual that the CLI could resolve the hostname but SecureCRT could not.

When you say you are "able to connect via CLI", what does that mean? Are you using SecureCRT on the command line to connect?

What protocol are you using to connect, SSH2, Telnet?

If you navigate to Options > Global Options > Default Session and choose Edit Default Settings what protocol is listed in the Connection category of Session Options - Default?

Are you using a saved session, Quick Connect, or the Connect Bar to attempt the connection?
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2020, 01:12 AM
saadi381 saadi381 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 3
dsn hostname lookup failure

i have same issue on MAC
accessing a host directly (by creating a session in securecrt) give this

[PRINTER] : Printer initialization succeeded: Core Printing status code: 0
[LOCAL] : SSH2Core version 8.7.3.2279
[LOCAL] : Connecting to neteng-bastion:22 ...
SecureCRT - Version 8.7.3 (build 2279)
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_NOT_CONNECTED to STATE_CLOSED
[LOCAL] : Connected for 0 seconds, 0 bytes sent, 0 bytes received

[LOCAL] : Stream has closed [CLOSE_TYPE_NONSPECIFIC] : Hostname lookup failed: host not found

Hostname lookup failed: host not found

but when i log into local machine terminal then it resolves fine and connects
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2020, 10:06 AM
cboyack cboyack is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 57
Hi saadi381,

In order to obtain a proper "apples-to-apples" comparison between SecureCRT and the local machine terminal, we're going to need a fair bit of information.

Can you please share the following information with me?
  • What is the debug output of the ssh connection from the terminal app. For example, this can be obtained with a "-vvv" modifier as below:
    ssh -vvv neteng-bastion
  • What is the output of the following two commands when run within a "Local Shell" "Cmd+L" tab in SecureCRT:
    host neteng-bastion
    nslookup neteng-bastion
  • What is the output of the same two commands (listed above) within the native terminal app (before connecting to any remote hosts)
To avoid posting sensitive information to public forums, please send the following information attached to an email to support@vandyke.com and include Attn: Cameron - Forum Thread #13005 in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Cameron

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by cboyack; 10-02-2020 at 10:52 AM. Reason: Formatting
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 PM.