Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2020, 09:11 AM
klasschuvak klasschuvak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Bug report: Command-line key-based auth is broken since SecureCRT 8.7

Good day,

OS: Windows 10

Upgraded from SecureCRT 8.5.4 to 8.7.3 and experiencing broken command-line key-based auth

Command

Quote:
"C:\Program Files\VanDyke Software\SecureCRT\SecureCRT.exe" /N "{TITLE}" /T /SSH2 1.2.3.4 /P 22 /L {USERNAME} /I "full_path_to_ssh_key"
leads to Password prompt from SSH server, instead of trying to authenticate using SSH (RSA) key.

The same command works on SecureCRT 8.5.4 and past versions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2020, 11:14 AM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 382
Hi klasschuvak,

At first I thought that the issue might be syntax related, as command-line options should technically precede the hostname...

For example:
Code:
SecureCRT /SSH2 /L bob mycompany.com
… but I was able to replicate the behavior with 8.7.3 even with the recommended syntax.

I have created a bug report so that our QA/Dev team can investigate further. Should progress be made toward a resolution, or further information be required, I will post here!
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by cboyack; 09-16-2020 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2020, 12:57 AM
klasschuvak klasschuvak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by berdmann View Post
Hi klasschuvak,

At first I thought that the issue might be syntax related, as command-line options should technically precede the hostname...

For example:
Code:
SecureCRT /SSH2 /L bob mycompany.com
but I was able to replicate the behavior with 8.7.3 even with the recommended syntax.

I have created a bug report so that our QA/Dev team can investigate further. Should progress be made toward a resolution, or further information be required, I will post here!
Hi, is there any update on this?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2020, 10:02 AM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 382
Hi klasschuvak,

Yes! I sent you an email with a link to download a pre-release build that includes the fix for this issue. I look forward to hearing about your results with the pre-release build!
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.