Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2005, 09:35 AM
ManOfSteele ManOfSteele is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Dragging tabs to the desktop

Another nice feature would be to be able to drag a tab and drop it on the desktop, which would have the effect of removing the tab from the main CRT window and creating a new independent window matching the removed tab. Dragging tabs between CRT windows would be a logical extension of this, and perhaps if the last tab was dragged onto another window the parent CRT window would be closed. The reason this would be useful to be is because I work on a dual monitor system and I often pull windows to the second monitor so nothing covers it. Dragging a CRT tab to my second monitor would be a very nice feature.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:27 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Thanks for the request. There have been a number of requests for this feature and it is under consideration for a future version of SecureCRT.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2007, 03:59 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManOfSteele
Another nice feature would be to be able to drag a tab and drop it on the desktop, which would have the effect of removing the tab from the main CRT window and creating a new independent window matching the removed tab. Dragging tabs between CRT windows would be a logical extension of this, and perhaps if the last tab was dragged onto another window the parent CRT window would be closed. The reason this would be useful to be is because I work on a dual monitor system and I often pull windows to the second monitor so nothing covers it. Dragging a CRT tab to my second monitor would be a very nice feature.
This has been implemented in SecureCRT 6.0, which is in pre-beta testing. Currently, the following is supported.
  • Clone a session in a new window.
  • Send a tabbed session to a new window.
  • Drag and drop tabbed sessions between SecureCRT windows.

If you'd like to try it, please send e-mail to me at Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2008, 04:32 PM
eyecue eyecue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Long time user, first time poster

The 'right-click -> Send to new window' context menu entry has been implemented as you correctly stated, but what ManOfSteele was getting at in his original post is specifically the ability to pull/drag tabs out of a window to an empty area of the screen/desktop and have it do the same thing as 'right-click tab -> Send to new window'.

I for one would like to request the same. At the moment, dragging a tab out ends up with a mouse cursor as follows: (\) - like a no smoking sign without the cigarette, indicating the object 'cannot be dragged here'.

It would seem that the code to execute the desired function has already been implemented via the context menu, the feature request is merely to expose a new method for accessing the same function.

Looking forward to your response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2008, 10:47 AM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Hello eyecue

Thank you for your feature request. I have created an entry
for you in our feature request database. We will post
something here should a version of SecureCRT become
available that would allow you to drag a tab to the desktop
to start a new window instead of having to right click a tab
and send it out to a new window. If you would like to be
informed via e-mail, please send a message to
support@vandyke.com referencing this forum thread.

I'm not a developer, but as I understand it, setting up the
ability to drag a tab to a place where no window exists
introduces some problems. Once a window exists on your
desktop, it's easier to drag sessions between them, but
dragging to a place where there is no window is not as
straight forward.

Thank you

JJH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2008, 03:56 PM
gan's Avatar
gan gan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecue
Long time user, first time poster

The 'right-click -> Send to new window' context menu entry has been implemented as you correctly stated, but what ManOfSteele was getting at in his original post is specifically the ability to pull/drag tabs out of a window to an empty area of the screen/desktop and have it do the same thing as 'right-click tab -> Send to new window'.

I for one would like to request the same. At the moment, dragging a tab out ends up with a mouse cursor as follows: (\) - like a no smoking sign without the cigarette, indicating the object 'cannot be dragged here'.

It would seem that the code to execute the desired function has already been implemented via the context menu, the feature request is merely to expose a new method for accessing the same function.

Looking forward to your response.
Another way that is already possible with the current version is to add a shortcut key to "clone in new window" and "send to new window". That way it's just as easy and fast (probably faster) as drag and drop. Could also add that as a toolbar button if you prefer. If you get used to that i'm sure you won't miss the drag and drop

Gan

Last edited by gan; 05-26-2008 at 03:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2008, 04:05 PM
eyecue eyecue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Appreciate the responses, although my first reply was more to clarify the original feature request, having experienced it myself.

The summary is, being able to "transparently" move tabs onto, away from, and around at will is definitely something that needs a coherent design, but is well worth the implementation. In fact, you could probably do away with some of the context menu clutter, and improve the intuitive usability at the same time.

Something like this deserves an API/Interface/Framework for itself so it can apply to multiple Vandyke products. Hell, you could even Open-Source it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:58 AM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Hi eyecue.

Thanks for your comments. I have added them to the entry I
created for you in our feature request database.

JJH
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 PM.