VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2005, 11:56 AM
jad jad is offline
Friend of VShell
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Titlebar/Tab Issues.

While working with the 5.0 SCRT beta, I've come across two little things...

1) For a long time now, I've had my titlebar set to the same thing for all of my sessions: "%s (%u@%h:%p)" so I would see something like "Hosty (username@hosty.domain:22)" in my titlebar. 4.0 worked with this just fine. Now, when I connect using 5.0, I get "Hosty (@hosty.domain:22)" instead, I guess because it doesn't have the username before authentication, however, it does not appear to update the titlebar after authentication. Only when cloning the tab do I get the correct titlebar "Hosty (username@hosty.domain:22)" since it has the auth info at that point.

2) By having a standardized titlebar such as the above, I'm finding it very easy to get confused when opening up new tabs... For example, if I connect to Hosty and login, then clone the tab, I'll have two tabs named the same thing for that connection. No big deal so far. But if I open ANOTHER connection to Hosty and login, I now have three windows ("Hosty", "Hosty", and "Hosty (1)"). If I clone windows, now I start getting "Hosty (2)," "Hosty (3)," and so on. All in all, very very confusing.

Not sure what the best response to #2 might be...I'm trying to think of ways of either working with how it is now, or possible ways of "fixing" it. Just not quite sure yet what is best...

All in all, a great product though...always am pleased when the new versions come out. I LOVE the integration of SCRT And SFX...I think it's the best thing to happen to the product line in ages. Kudos to all the developers! 8)


Cheers,
Jason
  #2  
Old 03-18-2005, 12:13 PM
jad jad is offline
Friend of VShell
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Number 1 has been resolved by Beta 2. Sorry for not realizing this before posting.

Number 2 still the same. Still not sure whether that's because of what I'm forcing the titlebar to do, or if there might be a way to "fix" it.


Cheers,
Jason
  #3  
Old 03-22-2005, 04:36 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by jad
Number 1 has been resolved by Beta 2. Sorry for not realizing this before posting.
Glad to hear it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jad
Number 2 still the same. Still not sure whether that's because of what I'm forcing the titlebar to do, or if there might be a way to "fix" it.
The only things I've thought of so far are to use "Rename" from the tab menu or to use an escape sequence to rename the tab. This is what Siggy does. Perhaps he can tell us more about how he uses the escape sequences.

I'm also open to suggestions on how SecureCRT could be changed to help with this issue.

Maureen
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.