Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2017, 08:06 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Lightbulb Feature request: MouseOver tabs, multiple tab lines

Hi,

I'm not quite sure if this is a feature request or a bug, but it would be real nice to have the full hostname (tab title) displayed when MouseOver. I frequently have like 15-25 tabs open, and then I'm not able to read the hostname/tab title.

Yeah, I could set the minimum tab width up enough to read the hostname, but then I would have to scroll among the tabs - or actually click left/right. How about a scroll-line here?

A feature to configure multiple tab lines would also be nice

Best regards
Tommy Vindvik
Norway
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2017, 08:37 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 501
Hi 2mmy,

What version of SecureCRT are you using?

What operating system are you on?

What behavior do you see when you mouse over a tab?
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2017, 05:21 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Hi,

SecureCRT Version 8.1.1 (build 1319) - Official Release - February 28, 2017.
MacOS Sierra Version 10.12.4 beta (16E175b)

Behavior has been the same as long as I can remember (for different version of MacOS and SecureCRT), as in that nothing happens when I mouse over a tab.

Regards,
Tommy V
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2017, 10:13 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 501
Hi 2mmy,

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database to display full tab title on mouse over. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #12629" in the subject line or use the form from the support page of our website.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2017, 10:29 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Thank you

Regards,
Tommy V
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2017, 03:55 PM
yaanlpc yaanlpc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2mmy View Post
Hi,

I'm not quite sure if this is a feature request or a bug, but it would be real nice to have the full hostname (tab title) displayed when MouseOver. I frequently have like 15-25 tabs open, and then I'm not able to read the hostname/tab title.

Yeah, I could set the minimum tab width up enough to read the hostname, but then I would have to scroll among the tabs - or actually click left/right. How about a scroll-line here?

A feature to configure multiple tab lines would also be nice

Best regards
Tommy Vindvik
Norway
This is a good idea, however, I think Tab Grouping can temporarily meet your expectation, if combined with Tab Rename, basically it can meet anything during my usage.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2018, 08:01 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Any news on this feature request?
I have like 18 tabs open right now....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2018, 08:53 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 501
2mmy,

This feature has not yet been implemented.

Feature requests are typically prioritized based on a number of factors including, but not limited to, the number of requests and the amount of implementation work required. I have noted your continued interest in this functionality.

Should a version of SecureCRT become available with this feature, we will be sure to let you know.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2018, 12:49 AM
2mmy 2mmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Eric,

Thanks for the update

Most tabbed applications support some kind of extended information on mouse over.
Chrome has a native tool-tip and preview with extension, Opera browser has a preview of the tab built in.

So I think it's a feature your users greatly would appreciate once implemented. Maybe it's one of those features they don't know are missing before it's there - then they can't understand how they did without?

Should you decide to go "all in" and even add preview, it would be nice with configurable timers:
- instant tool-tip
- after 1sec (configurable), show preview
- after 3sec (configurable), clear the "new input" icon

Anyhow, thanks for a great application and keep up the good work
I love it!

Best regards,
Tommy Vindvik
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tab , tab title , tabs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.