Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2014, 10:36 AM
helpme helpme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Python logging via script

I'm using a python script to automate several things in our environment. When the script runs it seems to send an extra return when trying to sign in. I've used different variations of login methods such as waitforstrings with an array, but it always turns out the same way.

Script excerpt:
for eachDevice in strDevices:

CurrentTab = crt.GetScriptTab()
CurrentTab.Screen.Synchronous = True
CurrentTab.Screen.IgnoreEscape = True
CurrentTab.Screen.Send("telnet " + eachDevice + "\r")
Login = CurrentTab.Screen.ReadString(":")
if Login.find("sername")>-1:
CurrentTab.Screen.Send(Username + "\r")
elif Login.find("ogin")>-1:
CurrentTab.Screen.Send(Username + "\r")

Old code (still happened here and there was a delay too using this code)
#Prompt=["sername:","login:"]
#while True:
#CurrentTab.Screen.WaitForStrings(Prompt)
#CurrentTab.Screen.Send(Username + "\r")
#break

Terminal:
ACS5.5 username:
% Authentication failed (notice how no username is entered)

ACS5.5 username: [username]
ACS5.5 password:

At this point it logs in successfully. The extra return seems to be only when it initially connects.

SecureCRT ver 7.2.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2014, 12:23 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi helpme,

Thanks for the post.

I don't get the extra enter that you are seeing.

Do you get this when connecting to all types of devices or just one type?

If you remove the file and loop in the excerpt and just hard code the device (eachDevice), do you get better behavior?

What operating system are you using?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2014, 12:46 PM
helpme helpme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks, you led me in the right direction. It turned out to be an extra whitespace after some of the devices when reading from the file. I added eachDevice.strip() to solve the problem.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2014, 01:17 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,306
Hi helpme,

Thanks for the update. Your solution was my guess after testing, but I wanted to get more information.

The whitespaces may have been non-printing characters that were throwing things off as well.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
login , python , script


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.