VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2017, 07:51 AM
MartBrooks MartBrooks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Running X11 apps on remote Linux server

Hello

When I connect to a remote Linux box and try to run an X11 application, I get the following error message:

"Rejecting X11 forwarding request from [::1]:51438 because connection to the X11 server failed. Hostname lookup failed: host not found".

I've seen discussions from several years ago reporting this problem but there didn't seem to be any clear resolution. I'm using version 8.1.0 (build 1294).

Any pointers appreciated.

Thanks

Martin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2017, 09:06 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 66
Hi MartBrooks,

Sorry you are having trouble.

What platform/OS are you running SecureCRT on?
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2017, 12:10 PM
MartBrooks MartBrooks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Hi

This is Mac OSX Sierra 10.12.3.

Happy to provide any diagnostic data you like, this is all silly local network stuff.




Mart.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2017, 02:07 PM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 66
Hi MartBrooks,

Have you been able to use X11 in the past?

It is my understanding that Sierra does not come with an X Server installed by default. What X Server do you have installed?

Have you ensured that X11Forwarding is enabled in you sshd_config?
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:59 AM
MartBrooks MartBrooks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Hi

That was the clue I needed, thanks.

I downloaded and installed XQuartz (free software) and can now run remote X11 applications just fine.

Thanks!

Martin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2017, 07:17 AM
ekoranyi ekoranyi is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 66
Good Morning MartBrooks,

I'm glad we could help point you in the right direction and that you're up and running.

Have a great day.
__________________
Thanks,
--Eric

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


copyright 1995-2015 VanDyke Software, Inc.