Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2018, 04:27 PM
Simea Simea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
New SecureCRT Feature Request: Variable Host Names

It would be very nice to be able to be able to use the session log file substitution variables in the session hostname field.

For example I keep dedicated folders for each of my company's sites. In that folder I keep sessions for each server (named db, web, app, whatever). Currently when I want to add a new site I have to manually update all these hostnames (copy existing site directory & update hostnames).

Instead of all that manual work, it would be very nice if I could just create one template with hostname set to something like '%S.%F.mycompany.com' that I could use everywhere!

Is that possible?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2018, 04:58 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 836
It's not currently possible, but we can add a feature request.

Can you delve into more detail?
For example, what you'd like to see happen if you have multiple nested folders in which a session resides?

%F maps to the entire folder path (from the perspective of the Session Manager) where a session resides, such that the session named "my-way-down-deep-session" in the graphic below yields the following %F resolutions on Windows and Mac/Linux, respectively:
  • Folder1\SubFolderA\SubSubFolder_i on Windows
  • Folder1/SubFolderA/SubSubFolder_i on Mac/Linux

How are you thinking it could work for a host name to have '/' characters?

Or were you never planning on storing any sessions more than one folder-level deep?

--Jake
Attached Images
File Type: png Way-down-deep-session.png (26.3 KB, 129 views)
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2018, 05:18 PM
Simea Simea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Hi Jake,

Thanks for getting back to me!

That's an interesting question about the nested folders. My simple use case has no need for nested folders but I can see how that might be an issue. Maybe the variables could be indexed (%F0=session folder name, %F1, session parent folder name, etc.)?

I think what would really be ideal is a solution similar to the Environments concept in Postman. If you're not familiar it's a really nice way to template out requests for different sites.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2018, 06:14 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 836
It sounds like you, personally, would never need to go more than one level deep within a folder.

Your reference to Environments in Postman indicates what you really want is the ability to define key value pairs and then use the keys in strategic session option locations (such as hostname), defining your keys somewhere "global" such as what Postman allows. Does it seem like I'm on the right track?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2018, 08:45 AM
Simea Simea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Yes kind of! I think what you're describing would work as long as there was an easy way to toggle the active environment. In Postman you can define a set of variables for each environment and then use the dropdown on the main page to select the active environment where your requests will be sent. For example say we have two sites St. Louis & New York with service endpoints http://stl.mycompany.com/ & http://nyc.mycompany.com/. In this scenario we could create the following environments and requests as follows:

Environments:
New York
siteid=nyc

St. Louis
siteid=stl

Request 1:
GET http://{{siteid}}.mycompany.com/

Request 2:
POST http://{{siteid}}.mycompany.com/

Notice how this approach will scale well if we have more sites or requests to add in the future.


I think long-term that might be the way to go but in the meantime just making the log file substitution variables I mentioned earlier available in the hostname would be a big improvement!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2018, 09:33 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 836
And it's the Hostname field where you would want to use these variable substitutions?

Anywhere else, specifically, that you need?

Also, how many sessions do you have in each of your "site" folders, on average?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
http://www.vandyke.com/support

Last edited by jdev; 06-07-2018 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2018, 04:34 PM
Simea Simea is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Hi Jake,

Having the variables also available in Logon Actions might be useful for anyone with a more complicated connection sequence/anyone connecting through a jumpserver.

# of sessions per site is only ~10.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2018, 04:55 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 836
Thanks for the info.

I've created feature requests for you.

FYI.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.