Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2020, 03:26 AM
scriptmonkey scriptmonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Reducing script execution time

First and foremost, I want to to say thank you for the brilliant script examples and threads I have seen on this forum, have really helped me immensely getting me up and running with SecureCRT scripting.

I have several scripts that I now use, primarily one that reads commands from a file and executes said commands against another file of hosts. However, due to the amount of commands required, this can take some time. I'm wondering if there's a method to split the work out? So the hosts that are read in are split into two different arrays, one array runs in one tab, whilst the second tab runs in another. Thus halving the time it should take to execute.

Has this been done before? Do you think its even possible? What might the pitfalls be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2020, 08:02 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,324
Hi scriptmonkey,

Soooo many unknowns, where to start?

First:
Quote:
Has this been done before? Do you think its even possible? What might the pitfalls be?
Yes. Yes. Unknown.
  • What version of SecureCRT are you using? On what OS/platform?

  • What protocol are you using to connect?

  • What scripting language is your script?

  • What seems to be taking so much time? Do the commands result in a lot of output? Or are the remotes slow when providing that output?, etc.

Please post a copy of your script. Or, if it contains sensitive data, send an email to support@vandyke.com and reference Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #14194.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2020, 08:19 AM
scriptmonkey scriptmonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Hi yes, sorry, should have provided a bit more information.

I run 6.7.3 on Windows 7 (I know super old, restriction by company).

Protocol is SSH, my code also has to handle connecting via a jump host.

Language is vb.

Time taken is down to the sheer volume of output returned when commands are executed, not particularly down response time at remote end (but occasionally can be factor).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2020, 10:41 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,324
Hi scriptmonkey,

The only solution I can think of that might help you is the multiple tab approach suggested in this other post.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 AM.