VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.2/SecureFX 4.0 Beta
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2006, 11:26 AM
weaver6244 weaver6244 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 38
Automatic tunnel setup in connection profile.

I have a new application that doesn't support tty over ssh so I have to first set up a tunnel through to port 23 and then make a second telnet connection to the local ssh tunnel port which passes through the tunnel to telnetd on the remote host.

The ttwin application appears to suport this process in a single step. Is there a way for SecureCRT to set up the tunnel and make the telnet connection all in one step as part of a single connection profile?
  #2  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:31 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Hello weaver6244

I have created an entry for you in our feature request
database for the ability to link a session to a session that
it depends on. Something like that should allow you to
launch a Telnet session that you have saved in your Connect
dialog, which would first connect to a session (if any) that
it depends on - like the port forwarding session you
mentioned. We will post a message here, should a version of
SecureCRT become available with that functionality. If you
would like to be informed via e-mail, please send a message
to support@vandyke.com and reference this forum thread.

Alternatively, if you have SecureCRT 5.2, you can launch
your port forwarding session, which (once connected) could
automatically launch the Telnet session in a tab in the same
window. Here's how it would work:
  • Create an SSH session with the port forward for Telnet
    configured
  • Within the Application entry box in the Port
    Forwarding Properties dialog, type the path (or browse) to
    SecureCRT.exe
  • In the Arguments entry box for the
    Application, type "/t /telnet localhost 23" (without the
    quotes)
The /t tells SecureCRT to launch a new session in a tab

Would something like that work for you?

Thank you

JJH
  #3  
Old 10-06-2006, 04:14 PM
weaver6244 weaver6244 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 38
I am going to give it a shot, thanks.
  #4  
Old 10-06-2006, 04:59 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
No problem. If you have more questions, feel free to post
here or send a message to support@vandyke.com.

JJH
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 PM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.