VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT 5.0 Alpha/SecureFX 3.0 Alpha
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-13-2004, 02:09 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Thanks for the info. Any additional information you can provide will be greatly appreciated since this is the first report of this and we haven't seen it in house.

Maureen
  #17  
Old 12-13-2004, 04:56 PM
c0w c0w is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
i noticed mention of a shot cut key to close a tab could there be a tick box in options to say when you have disconnected from a server to auto close the window..

other than thats i'm liking very much =)

c0w
  #18  
Old 12-14-2004, 02:39 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0w
i noticed mention of a shot cut key to close a tab could there be a tick box in options to say when you have disconnected from a server to auto close the window..

other than thats i'm liking very much =)

c0w
If you set the session option "Close on disconnect", it will close the tab when the session gets disconnected. Does that meet your needs?

Maureen
  #19  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:14 AM
d.millin d.millin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newtownards, N Ireland
Posts: 5
Angry Default Font

The latest alpha seems to have made changes to the default font. I have always used the default font for my sessions, which is defined in the .ini as:

B:"Normal Font"=00000040
f3 ff ff ff 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 90 01 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 76 74 31 30
30 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 61 00 00 00

When I logged onto the first server after upgrading, I found that font was much bigger than normal. I tried a number of servers to verify that the problem was not local to the one session, but they were all identical. When I went into the Appearance section of the Sessions Options, I found that Normal Font box was blank. I have a jpg of the Appearance Tab if it is of any use.
  #20  
Old 12-16-2004, 01:11 AM
d.millin d.millin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newtownards, N Ireland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.millin
The latest alpha seems to have made changes to the default font. I have always used the default font for my sessions, which is defined in the .ini as:

B:"Normal Font"=00000040
f3 ff ff ff 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 90 01 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 76 74 31 30
30 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 61 00 00 00

When I logged onto the first server after upgrading, I found that font was much bigger than normal. I tried a number of servers to verify that the problem was not local to the one session, but they were all identical. When I went into the Appearance section of the Sessions Options, I found that Normal Font box was blank. I have a jpg of the Appearance Tab if it is of any use.
I Rebooted my laptop and the fonts went back to normal.
  #21  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:01 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Thanks for the info. I'm glad rebooting fixed the problem. I think you may have run into a problem we're aware of but don't know why it happens. Have you ever seen SecureCRT start and just be a title bar (i.e. no session window)?

Maureen
  #22  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:47 AM
toloughlin's Avatar
toloughlin toloughlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maureen
Have you ever seen SecureCRT start and just be a title bar (i.e. no session window)?
I have seen it ... what is this? A co-worked had this, I couldn't fix it ... he ended up re-imaging his PC.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Tom O'Loughlin
  #23  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:43 PM
rvrolyk rvrolyk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
I'd definitely like to see the option to truncate tab titles. It would be nice to see the full string displayed in the title bar when the tab is active but shortened to a reasonable length on the tab itself.

It would also be nice to have a tab change colors or perhaps add a symbol (say a *) to the title if it's not the selected tab and a bell/alert is received in it.

Thanks.
  #24  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:43 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by toloughlin
I have seen it ... what is this? A co-worked had this, I couldn't fix it ... he ended up re-imaging his PC.
This problem has been there for a while. What happens is that SecureCRT requests information about the vt100 font and the system returns information that doesn't make sense (e.g., the font height is 0). As a workaround, if we get bogus information back, we use a system fixed-width font instead. Another workaround is to use a font other than vt100.

Unfortunately, it happens very inconsistently and we don't know what causes it to get in this state. As far as we know, rebooting the machine has always fixed the problem. Did rebooting the machine not fix it for your co-worker?

Maureen
  #25  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:09 PM
toloughlin's Avatar
toloughlin toloughlin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maureen
Did rebooting the machine not fix it for your co-worker?
No, it didn't.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Tom O'Loughlin
  #26  
Old 12-17-2004, 10:00 AM
d.millin d.millin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newtownards, N Ireland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maureen
Thanks for the info. I'm glad rebooting fixed the problem. I think you may have run into a problem we're aware of but don't know why it happens. Have you ever seen SecureCRT start and just be a title bar (i.e. no session window)?

Maureen
No I haven't. On a few occassions I have seen the SecureCrt
binary disappear on the first reboot, after an upgrade.

Regards,

Darren
  #27  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:23 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by toloughlin
No, it didn't.
What a drag! I added a note to the issue that rebooting doesn't always fix the problem.

Maureen
  #28  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:26 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.millin
No I haven't. On a few occassions I have seen the SecureCrt
binary disappear on the first reboot, after an upgrade.

Regards,

Darren
That's bizarre. When you say disappear, do you mean SecureCRT.exe wasn't in the installation directory? Was the directory empty? Did it come back after rebooting or did you have to reinstall?

Maureen
  #29  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:51 PM
d.millin d.millin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newtownards, N Ireland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maureen
That's bizarre. When you say disappear, do you mean SecureCRT.exe wasn't in the installation directory? Was the directory empty? Did it come back after rebooting or did you have to reinstall?

Maureen
The laptop is running XP Pro. I uninstall SecureCRT, and install the new version without a reboot. When the laptop is rebooted, everything is there except for the binary. The first time this happened, I assumed it was a glitch, but it has happened more than once. I have seen it happen on my desktop too. I re-run the installer and everything is ok. The next time I will take screen shots.
  #30  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:43 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvrolyk
I'd definitely like to see the option to truncate tab titles. It would be nice to see the full string displayed in the title bar when the tab is active but shortened to a reasonable length on the tab itself.
Thanks for the feedback. As far as truncating tab titles, a few ways I've thought of to do this are:
  1. Automatically truncate the titles so that all the tabs will fit in the window. This would be similar to what Windows does with the task bar. We probably wouldn't want to get too small though.
  2. Pick a reasonable width and always use it.
  3. Make truncation an option an allow the width to be specified. Because the font isn't fixed width, the width would have to be specified in something other than characters (pixels, maybe?).
Any comments or other suggestions?

Quote:
It would also be nice to have a tab change colors or perhaps add a symbol (say a *) to the title if it's not the selected tab and a bell/alert is received in it.
We recently implemented having the tab flash when a session gets disconnected and the option "Show connection closed dialog" was set. Would putting a symbol like '*' in the title be preferable to flashing or would you want it to do both? The advantage to the '*' is that it would be obvious which session needed attention even if the tab was scrolled off the window.

Maureen
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.


copyright 1995-2017 VanDyke Software, Inc.