Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2016, 05:29 AM
ilputto ilputto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
How to connect directly using a bastion host

Hello All,

I would like to post a quesiton. I usually have to use a bastion host to connect to my servers. Is it a way to save many sessions into " SecureCrt Session Manager" to let me to connect directly to destination server throught a bastion host?

Many thanks
Regards
Adriano
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2016, 08:16 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,449
Hi Adriano,

What version of SecureCRT are you using?

On what platform/OS?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2016, 07:36 AM
ilputto ilputto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Hello bgagnon,


I'm using Version 8.0.1 (x64 build 1082) - Official Release - April 26, 2016
for Windows.
I have to connect to unix-based servers.

Many thanks
Adriano
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2016, 08:45 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,449
Hi Adriano,

An important question I forgot was what protocol you are using. As long as you are using Telnet or SSH2, in version 7.1.x, we added this functionality:

Changes in SecureCRT 7.1 (Beta 1) -- February 26, 2013
------------------------------------------------------

New features:

  • Added support for dependent sessions so that a connection can be made to a jump host or SSH gateway before the session is connected.
So if your bastion host supports dynamic port forwarding, you would be able to take advantage of this feature.

You basically create one session (BastionHost) and then sessions to each of the "target hosts" you need to reach beyond the bastion host. Then, in the Connection / SSH2 (or Connection / Telnet) category of each target host session, from the Firewall dropdown, choose Select Session... and then choose the BastionHost session.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2016, 01:50 AM
ilputto ilputto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Many thanks Brenda! It works!

Regards

Adriano
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2016, 07:01 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,449
Hi Adriano,

Great! I am glad to hear the "dependent session functionality" works well for you. Thanks for posting an update.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.