Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-20-2018, 03:58 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,464
Hi idlemind,

As a note, it's not necessarily about printers configured:
Quote:
Disabling Avahi did nothing and I have 0 printers configured.
But instead just having CUPS running.

As a test, could you disable CUPS, then start SecureCRT and
let me know what happens?

Disabling CUPS can be done temporarily by entering these commands in the native "terminal" shell:

sudo systemctl stop cups.service
sudo systemctl stop cups.socket
sudo systemctl stop cups.path

CUPS can be re-enabled by issuing the same commands replacing stop with start.

For example:
sudo systemctl stop cups.service
sudo systemctl stop cups.socket
sudo systemctl stop cups.path

Does disabling CUPS resolve the issue of sluggishness in SecureCRT for you on your system?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2018, 12:39 PM
idlemind idlemind is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgagnon View Post
Hi idlemind,

As a note, it's not necessarily about printers configured:

But instead just having CUPS running.

As a test, could you disable CUPS, then start SecureCRT and
let me know what happens?

Disabling CUPS can be done temporarily by entering these commands in the native "terminal" shell:

sudo systemctl stop cups.service
sudo systemctl stop cups.socket
sudo systemctl stop cups.path

CUPS can be re-enabled by issuing the same commands replacing stop with start.

For example:
sudo systemctl stop cups.service
sudo systemctl stop cups.socket
sudo systemctl stop cups.path

Does disabling CUPS resolve the issue of sluggishness in SecureCRT for you on your system?
Bgagnon, upon disabling CUPS I now have a responsive SecureCRT install. That said, disabling CUPS isn't going to be viable for everyone. There is definitely something hinky going on.

I did see your post about not being officially supported and I get that. I'd imagine this issue will show up in future CentOS shipments eventually so it'll get corrected there. If we could get direct Fedora support that'd be great though. Fedora being the more common desktop OS on the RedHat side at least.

TLDR; disabling CUPS makes SecureCRT fast at least until a patch can be written.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2018, 01:10 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,464
Hi idlemind and barney3000,

I've received news that this issue may be resolved in the most recent pre-release build of v8.3 (without disabling CUPS). If you want to try it, please send an email to support@vandyke.com and reference "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #12544" in the subject line.

If not writing us from the email address associated with your download account, please include that email address in the email you send us.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-01-2018, 07:53 PM
idlemind idlemind is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Sadly, no improvement. If I stop cups, launch SecureCRT and then start cups again it works fine in both the current release and the pre-release you had sent my way.

Is it trying to interact with cups at application startup in some way that is cached over the life of the application?

There is reference to a mid-2017 QT bug about the 2.4 release of QT causing slowness with apps. I'd have to check the version of cups in RHEL7 to be certain but that may be the change that's making this apparent. Maybe a QT refresh would resolve it. Do you use a statically linked QT or system QT?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-02-2018, 08:20 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,464
Hi idlemind,

The pre-release build I made available is built with a new version of Qt (statically linked).

SecureCRT was calling a Qt library function to get the available printer names and that function was making a call that was very expensive. The code was changed to use a different library function. It appears the change fixed it for Ubuntu, but not for Fedora and Red Hat. Our developers will continue looking into this.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-16-2018, 02:05 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,509
An option to completely disable printing has been added to a pre-beta version of SecureCRT. This isn't a fix, but may be a viable workaround depending on your printing needs. If you would like to try it, please email me at Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-17-2018, 08:32 AM
pbusque pbusque is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 6
An option to disable printing? Finally!

The location of the print button is so misplaced and insecure (it doesn't offer any prompt before printing) that I can't tell how many time I printed a full history log by misclicking on theprint button that while aiming at the 'close tab' X mark, which are only a few millimeters away!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-17-2018, 08:50 AM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbusque View Post
An option to disable printing? Finally!
I'm glad you like the new possibility of disabling printing.

As Maureen indicated, if you're interested in giving the new version a try, please email Maureen.Jett@vandyke.com.

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
http://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.