Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > File Transfer

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 07:53 AM
geojf3 geojf3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Job Scheduler Problem

Hi all,

I am having a problem with using the job scheduler on a WIN2003 server.

I have the following command:
cd "c:\program files\securefx\"

sfxcl.exe /Log c:\bcbs\send\bcbslog.txt c:\bcbs\send\mirout1 sftp://usernameassword@remoteftp.com/home/providers/zx00413/PROD_MIR_from_the_Fund

This runs fine if I put this into a command line or a batch file and run the batch file from a command line.

Th problem comes when the command is run from the scheduler. There is no indication of a problem, just the just finishes in about 2-3 seconds. No log file is created/updated and no error codes are generated.

Has anyone come across this? I am logged on to the server and run the job with full authority.

Thanks in advance,

George
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:01 AM
tnygren's Avatar
tnygren tnygren is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,408
Hi George,

It is difficult to state for certain what may be happening since a log is not produced.

However, I suspect that the issue is that SFXCL cannot find a configuration folder and therefore cannot run the command.

When SFXCL is run from a scheduled task in Windows, it is most likely being run as a different user then yours. This user most likely does not have a SecureFX configuration folder created for their profile.

This can be resolved by using the '/F' command line option for SFXCL that specifies a configuration folder to use.

An example of this would be:

sfxcl.exe /F C:\myconfig /Log c:\bcbs\send\bcbslog.txt c:\bcbs\send\mirout1 sftp://username:mypassword@remoteftp.com/home/providers/zx00413/PROD_MIR_from_the_Fund

Does adding this command line option allow the scheduled task to run?
__________________
Thanks,

Teresa

Teresa Nygren
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:06 AM
geojf3 geojf3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
What should the contents of this config file (C:\myconfig) be?

George
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:11 AM
tnygren's Avatar
tnygren tnygren is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,408
Hi George,

The 'myconfig' folder should be the location of SecureFX's configuration folder.

SecureFX records the location of this folder in the 'Configuration folder' data field in the 'General' category of the 'Global Options' for SecureFX 3.x and higher.

This is often located in a user's profile. If the account running the scheduled task does not have access to the current location of the configuration folder, a copy of it can be made to a new location and SFXCL will be able to user that new folder.

Does this help?
__________________
Thanks,

Teresa

Teresa Nygren
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:40 AM
geojf3 geojf3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
No...there was no change. I used the /F to point to the Admin config folder and I even copied the Admin config folder to the users folder and still no change.

One odd thing is...I put some intentional invalid information in the command
invalid switch (sfxcl.exe /DSDSDS)
invalid data (sfxcl.exe /F c:/nofile)

I did not receive one error when the job ran from the scheduler.

I dont know if this means anything.

George
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2006, 01:15 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by geojf3
The problem comes when the command is run from the scheduler. There is no indication of a problem, just the just finishes in about 2-3 seconds. No log file is created/updated and no error codes are generated.

Has anyone come across this? I am logged on to the server and run the job with full authority.
George
If a log file doesn't get created by SecureFX, it's likely that SecureFX isn't being launched at all. This would indicate that there's a problem running the .bat file itself.

One thing you might consider is redirecting stdout/stderr to a log file so that you can find out what errors (if any) are being returned by the system when you attempt to run the .bat file within the scheduler.

For example, if I were scheduling a batch file named "MyBatchFile.bat" to be launched from the windows scheduler, I'd put this in the "Run" field of the properties screen for the scheduled task in the windows scheduler:
cmd /C C:\MyBatchFile.bat >> C:\MyScheduledTaskRunLog.txt 2>&1
If you do this in your scheduled task setup, does a "C:\MyScheduledTaskRunLog.txt" file get created?

If so, what clues does it provide as to what's going wrong?

--Jake
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2006, 03:03 PM
Chris Chris is offline
VanDyke Developer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 13
Scheduled Task log

The Windows scheduler also logs information about a scheduled job, including any errors it encounters, to a separate file. The log can be viewed from the Scheduled Tasks page. Click on the "Advanced" menu option and select "View Log". Does this log give any indication of what is wrong?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:01 AM
geojf3 geojf3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Jake - I am going to try what you suggested today and will post the results.

Chris - The Job Scheduler log shows the job ran in about 4 secords with an error code of 0.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 PM.