Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2020, 08:04 AM
noc_FMP noc_FMP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Enable firewall session option

Hi,
is it possible enable firewall session option using a script?

thanks
fabio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2020, 10:14 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,325
Hi Fabio,

What version of SecureCRT is installed?

On what platform/OS?

Please provide some context.

Are you trying to use a dependent session as a firewall?

If so, you would use the command-line syntax, such as:

crt.Session.Connect("/Firewall=Session:Session_name /SSH2 /L user /Password p4$$w0rd host")
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2020, 06:26 AM
noc_FMP noc_FMP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Hi, I have Version 8.7.1 on windows10.

I manage more or less 300 sessions; I would create a button or something else to enable or disable the firewall field.

Is it possible?
Thanks
Fabio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2020, 11:17 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,325
Hi noc_FMP,

I have added this thread to a feature request in our product enhancement database for the ability to enable/disable firewall setting globally. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct email notification, send an email to support@vandyke.com and include Feature Request - Forum Thread #14168 in the subject line or use this form from the support page of our website.

You originally mentioned scripting and you could basically set it to None to turn it off or add the session or firewall reference to turn it on. You would use the SessionConfiguration object with GetOption/SetOption methods to do this.

The particular entry in the session to be changed would be in the following formats:
S:"Firewall Name"=None
S:"Firewall Name"=Session:Session_Name
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2020, 11:35 AM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by noc_FMP View Post
Hi, I have Version 8.7.1 on windows10.

I manage more or less 300 sessions; I would create a button or something else to enable or disable the firewall field.
I would be interested in getting some additional information about your use case. Would this be a setting you'd want to be able to toggle easily as opposed to making the change permanent? Does it need to be done through a script?

Maureen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2020, 04:13 AM
noc_FMP noc_FMP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Hi,
my object is enable/disable firewall feature with a script or (better) with a button.

Thanks
Fabio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2020, 01:28 PM
Maureen's Avatar
Maureen Maureen is offline
VanDyke Product Director
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,585
Thanks for the reply. That gives me a better idea of what you want.

We'll post here if this gets implemented.

Maureen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.