Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2007, 12:24 PM
Tybio Tybio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
SecureCRT Tabs question

Greetings,

First post, so if I'm in the wrong place please let me know.

I've tried to search for this, but come up empty. When using putty, the window title automatically reflects the system I am currently connected to, is there any way to get this functionality with tab names in SecureCRT?

We use a jump-box, and while I love the tabs for holding my plethora of windows, figuring out which host/device is on which tab can be quite painful when I have a bunch open.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2007, 06:54 PM
jjh jjh is offline
VanDyke Customer Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 815
Hello Tybio.

By default, the tabs should reflect the session name in the
Tab Title. If you look at the Appearance \ Window category
of your Session Options, you can enable the Title Bar option
and specify a different title that should appear as the Tab
Title. When you select that tab, it should also change the
Window title.

Another thing you might consider doing is to edit your
.bashrc file (or whatever file you use) to have your prompt
change your window title. If SecureCRT is not configured to
ignore window title change requests, you can probably edit
your .bashrc file to change your prompt so that it changes
your window title. You might consider using something like
the following in your .bashrc to show the user that you are
logged in as and which host you are logged in to:

export PS1="\[\033]0;\u@\h: \w\007\]bash\\$"

In order for this to work, you'll need to make sure that the
"Ignore Window Title Change Requests" setting in the
Emulation \ Advanced category of your Session Options is not
enabled.

Does this help you?

Thank you

JJH
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:36 AM
Tybio Tybio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
It helps me understand how the tab names work, thanks a lot for taking the time.

However, I'm logging into networking devices (Juniper routers, Cisco switches etc). Thanks to your help I can get the host I first SSH to in the tab name, but when I SSH from that host to a device it does not change the name.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 01:40 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
It sounds like the second system is not sending a window title change request, which isn't surprising as many devices and shells do not send window title change requests.

There is an option to rename the tab manually. Would this help?

To try it, right click on the tab and select Rename.

Does the device you jump to from the jump-box have the ability to control the prompt that's displayed, and does it have the "echo" command?

You could run a script which modifies the title bar for you. One idea would be to have an input box prompt you for the name of the title bar. The same input could be used as part of a command which is sent to the server as ssh hostname. However, setting the name back to the original host would require some planning (what string would you watch for to tell the script the connection is closed, and do you really want a script running the entire time you're connected to the jump destination).

The simplest solution is to have the remote echo an escape sequence as part of the prompt, logon banner, or logon script if possible.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:57 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
One other thought - some systems only send the window title change requests if the emulation is advertised as xterm.

If you change your emulation to Xterm in Session Options / Terminal / Emulation, do you get the results you're wanting?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 PM.