Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 22 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2010, 02:03 PM
reverb reverb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
SecureCRT for Mac OS X - screen refresh rate

First of all, let me say, I am very excited about SecureCRT for Mac OS X. I searched but could not find an option to increase the screen refresh rate. iTerm has this feature, and it makes a huge difference for me. With iTerm's refresh rate turned up, things become much smoother when running applications like top in large terminal windows. SecureCRT seems to use a lot more CPU than iTerm/Terminal when lots of input is coming its way. I was displaying a 40K line file and it took 2 minutes for SecureCRT to render it all... iTerm... 2 seconds.

Any recommendations?

thx, reverb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2010, 05:45 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi reverb,

Thanks for the positive feedback!

Also thanks for the comparative data provided. Could you also provide a screenshot showing where this option is configured in iTerm?

I do not believe we currently have a configuration option that will allow you to increase the screen refresh rate.

I have added this thread to a feature request in our development database for including a config option to control screen refresh rate. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct e-mail notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #5916" in the subject line.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:57 AM
reverb reverb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Refresh rate in iTerm

The option is in iTerm -> Perferences

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2010, 08:34 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi reverb,

Thanks!

So what difference would you see if iTerm was set to the extremes on the slider, comparing Fastest/Slowest to the file you said took SecureCRT 2 minutes to render?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:52 AM
reverb reverb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
render times...

Take a 30,000 line text file for example:

> wc -l 30k.txt
30000 30k.txt

cat the file using iterm (with the slider in the middle):
> time cat 30k.txt
<snip>
real 0m0.353s

cat the file using SecureCRT w/ local session:
> time cat 30k.txt
<snip>
real 3m0.519s

Takes 3 minutes for SecureCRT to render the output from cat, which takes iTerm 0.3 seconds. Just for comparison, Mac OS X Terminal, takes 0.13 seconds. I'd expect SecureCRT to be comparable for a local terminal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:16 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi reverb,

Thanks for the additional information.

I have also added this thread to a feature request in our development database for improvement to scrolling for local terminal sessions. Should a future release of SecureCRT include this feature, notification will be posted here.

If you prefer direct e-mail notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Feature Request - Forum Thread #5916" in the subject line.

To clarify, are you using a local **shell** session when performing these commands?

Or are you using an SSH session to connect to localhost?
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by bgagnon; 08-10-2010 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:30 AM
reverb reverb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
local shell

Yes, using a local shell, not SSHing to localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 11:33 AM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,997
Hi reverb,

Thank you for the clarification.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:10 PM.