Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:36 PM
ljwobker ljwobker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
is there a way to show the time (either session or clock) in the status bar?

Subject should cover it... I'm trying to find a way to put a clock into the SecureCRT status bar - in a perfect world I'd be able to configure whether that was
- a per-session timer that counts up
- just a wall-clock showing the current time

for my use case I'd need HH:MM:SS granularity.

Is this possible?

Use case is that I use SecureCRT for screencasting, and being able to have a "Real" clock in the session would help a lot. I generally record only this window, so it's much more difficult if I have to run some other app to show the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2019, 02:10 PM
jdev's Avatar
jdev jdev is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 899
In SecureCRT's Global Options > Terminal > Appearance category, there's an option to Show elapsed time since being connected.
If that's not what you're looking for, then you could potentially accomplish this with a script, but it would preclude you from being able to run any other scripts (since this one would always need to be running in order to update the status bar each second). If you want to go the script route, the suggestion would be to configure your Default session with this script and apply that configuration to all of your existing sessions. Here's an example script you can use as a starting point:
Code:
# $language = "Python"
# $interface = "1.0"
crt.Screen.Synchronous = False

import time

while True:
    strCurTime = time.strftime("%H:%M:%S", time.localtime())
    crt.Session.SetStatusText(strCurTime)
    crt.Sleep(1000)
    if crt.Session.Connected == False:
        crt.Session.SetStatusText("")
        break
You could also go both routes so that you always have the current time in the status bar as well as the elapsed time.
--Jake
Attached Images
File Type: png SCRT_GlobalOptions_ShowTimeElapsedInStatusBar.png (59.5 KB, 21 views)
File Type: png CurrentTimeAndTimeElapsed.png (34.1 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Jake Devenport
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/vandykesoftware
Email: support@vandyke.com
Web: https://www.vandyke.com/support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 PM.