Welcome to the VanDyke Software Forums

Join the discussion today!


Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Scripting

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2020, 04:14 PM
BOkay80 BOkay80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Exclamation Issue with Example Script Paste (or Send ASCII File) With Echo Flow Control

I'm having an issue with the following script.

Example: Paste (or Send ASCII File) With Echo Flow Control

I'm using the ASCII file version.

It does not appear to not like lines of CLI code that requires line to word wrap.

When line that word wraps is pasted, it appears to do the echo but the script doesn't recognize it. The result is the script waiting until the timeout occurs.

Any thoughts on a resolution to this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2020, 12:34 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 441
Hi BOkay80,

The Paste (or Send ASCII File) With Echo Flow Control script isn't designed to work with long lines.

Modifying the script might be possible, but it's not clear when cycles will become available for such activity.

It would be helpful to have an example of your specific scenario that shows how a wrapped line appears on your screen when this occurs.

Would it be possible for you to upload and attach a screenshot depicting the screen when this occurs?

Or if you prefer you can send an email to support@vandyke.com with "ATTN: Brittney, Forum Thread #14193
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2020, 05:12 PM
BOkay80 BOkay80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by berdmann View Post
Hi BOkay80,

The Paste (or Send ASCII File) With Echo Flow Control script isn't designed to work with long lines.

Modifying the script might be possible, but it's not clear when cycles will become available for such activity.

It would be helpful to have an example of your specific scenario that shows how a wrapped line appears on your screen when this occurs.

Would it be possible for you to upload and attach a screenshot depicting the screen when this occurs?

Or if you prefer you can send an email to support@vandyke.com with "ATTN: Brittney, Forum Thread #14193
Thank you, a fix to the script would be a huge help. I emailed you screenshots.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2020, 12:05 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 441
BOkay80,

Thanks for sending the requested screenshots! I will follow up with you via email.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2020, 01:58 PM
BOkay80 BOkay80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Hello. Just wanted to check in on this as we may integrate this functionality into our base build. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2020, 04:20 PM
berdmann berdmann is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 441
Hi BOkay80.

We have not yet had the free cycles to troubleshoot this scripting issue.

That being said, I would like to gather some additional information from you regarding the issue.

What version of SecureCRT are you running?

What "Emulation" and "On Resize" settings do you have configured for the session that you are testing with? (Options / Session Options / Terminal / Emulation)

Can you please replace lines 57-64 in the script with the following code? This will add information about the line that was being processed when the script errored and the non-printing line endings that might be choking up the remote.

Code:
        If Not crt.Screen.WaitForString(strLine, 3) Then
            crt.Dialog.MessageBox 
                "Sent " & nLineNumber + 1 & " lines, but the last one was " & _
                "not echoed back to SecureCRT within 3 seconds." & vbcrlf & _
                vbcrlf & _
                "Abandoning paste operation." & vbcrlf & _
                "Last line: " & Replace(strLine, vbcrlf, "[CRLF]")
            Exit Sub
        End If
Can you send me a screenshot of the error message that you see after modifying the script with the suggested lines? (You can respond using the email thread that we used previously or you can send a new email to support@vandyke.com with "ATTN: Brittney, Forum Thread #14193" as the subject.)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brittney

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730

Last edited by berdmann; 07-30-2020 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ascii , echo flow control , example script , word wrap

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.