VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > SecureCRT on the Mac
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:11 AM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Unable to delete saved sessions

I have a number of folders and many, many sessions saved with SecureCRT...

Unfortunately, when I try to move a session into a folder, or delete a session I always get this error:

ERROR: Deletion of folder or session from the database failed.

Any thoughts?

Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:26 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Hello Aaron,

Which version of SecureCRT are you running?

Are you in the SecureCRT Connect window and trying to move sessions by dragging them?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2012, 07:23 AM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
version 6.7.4

Hi!

Thanks for the reply.

Version 6.7.4 (build 354) - Official Release - February 2, 2012

Yes, I am in the connect window. When I drag a session to a different folder, it goes. But the next time I launch SecureCRT; it is back in the original space & now I have two copies.

Also, when I right-click & choose to delete an entry or a folder, I get that error message.

Thanks,

Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2012, 07:27 AM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked View Post
Hello Aaron,

Which version of SecureCRT are you running?

Are you in the SecureCRT Connect window and trying to move sessions by dragging them?
I'm running Version 6.7.4 (build 354) - Official Release - February 2, 2012

Yes, I'm in the connect window. When I drag/drop it does move. BUT when I re-open the connect window I will have a copy in the original location + the new location.

I cannot delete folders or any of my existing sessions. I CAN delete a session that I move into the new folder, but it's original copy remains.

Is there a way to export all my sessions; so I can delete the database & start over - then import all sessions into a clean database?

-Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2012, 08:38 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
QuiLoxx,

Are you connected to the session when you try to move the session and see the behavior you describe (a copy is performed instead of actually moving the session)?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:09 PM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
This is the SecureCRT on the MAC forum. Windows7 should not have anything to do with this, right?

I have NO open sessions when I try to delete/move.

Is there a way to export the list, so I can remove the app & re-import my sessions?

-Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:35 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
The particular operating system (Mac or Windows) apparently does not have anything to do with the problem, but you are correct this forum is SecureCRT on the Mac, so we should focus on that platform.

The sessions are saved in the Sessions folder, inside the configuration folder. The configuration folder location is specified in Global Options / General.

Version 6.7.5 is the current official release, so you might want to upgrade to see if you get different results.

Installing version 6.7.5 would be a good way to test to see if it's a problem specific to 6.7.4. However, if it is 6.7.4 specific I'm a little surprised we didn't hear about it.

The problem could conceivably be permission related. For example, if you are a member of a group that can read the file but don't have write permission to remove the file, I can imagine a situation like you describe where you can create a file in a subdirectory (that you've created) but not delete the old.


After you find your SecureCRT configuration folder, can you try the following test:
  • - Close SecureCRT
  • - Be sure exit SecureCRT completely, SecureCRT menu / Quit SecureCRT (or Command-Q)
  • - Rename the configuration folder
  • - Start SecureCRT
  • - Create a new session
  • - Create a new folder
  • - Move the session to the new folder
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2012, 01:04 PM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Looks like I should not have a problem w/ permissions...

I will try stuff anyways.

-Aaron

Last edited by QuiLoxx; 05-08-2012 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2012, 02:33 PM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Thanks Aaron,

It's actually the permissions and ownership of the session .ini files themselves (in the Sessions folder) that I think could explain the results you're seeing. If you have a session named Test.ini that was owned by someone other than you, and your group only has read permision, then you might experience a problem. Probably should not post more ls -l output (showing user & permissions), as security precaution since this is a public forum. If you'd like to send more output, please feel free to send it to support@vandyke.com with subject Attn Mike Forum Thread 10440. I believe the test described in my previous post should help tell whether there's something about the configuration folder or subfolders that we need to look more closely at.
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]

Last edited by miked; 05-08-2012 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2012, 05:35 AM
QuiLoxx QuiLoxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mike,

If I rename Config folder to OldConfig, then launch SecureCRT again. It recreates the Config folder, and I am able to add/delete perfectly.

The ownership of everything in the original Config folder, including the .ini files is me... I have even done some 'chown' commands in there.

I am afraid I am going to have to manually move these .ini files by hand & organize them via the cli. That does/will work, so I guess I can do that from now on - but I'd still like to know why...

-Aaron
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2012, 11:54 AM
miked's Avatar
miked miked is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,040
Thanks Aaron,

If you manually move one of the .ini files from the old configuration/Sessions folder into the new Sessions folder, can you move the session's .ini file through the SecureCRT Connect window afterward?

Approximately how many sessions do you have?

Did you need to run chown at any point because some of the .ini files or folders belonged to a different user at some point? Did you run chown -R?

Did you run ls -ldR * to make sure that even the directory permissions are correct?
__________________
Mike
VanDyke Software
Technical Support
[http://www.vandyke.com/support]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
delete, error


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


copyright 1995-2014 VanDyke Software, Inc.