VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > General
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2012, 02:29 PM
dementedgimp dementedgimp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thumbs up SecureCRT works on Mac OS Lion, but not XUbuntu 10.04....

Hi!
I like it on the Mac, it works good on it, but it does not work on Linux. Any ideas as to how I can get it running???
yours,
Jacques P.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2012, 02:47 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,265
Hi Jacques,

Thanks for the question. What method did you use to install SecureCRT on Ubuntu 10.04?

How are you launching SecureCRT on your Ubuntu machine?

What error do you see when you attempt to launch SecureCRT on the Ubuntu machine?

Are you using Ubuntu in a VM or on actual hardware?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2012, 05:23 PM
dementedgimp dementedgimp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
I reinstalled it, same answer...

Todd,
I installed via gdebi. Created a launcher on the desktop. The error is connection refused. XUbuntu on an Apple Imacs without OSX on it, so no VM.
Thanx ahead,
rtb,
I installed via gdebi. Created a launcher on the desktop. The error is connection refused. XUbuntu on an Apple Imacs without OSX on it, so no VM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:26 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,265
Hi Jacques,

Thanks for the information. It sounds like there is no server listening on the remote machine or there is a firewall blocking the connection.

Would you be able to post trace options output (please redact any sensitive data)?

To enable trace options output, click on the File pull down menu and select Trace Options. If you click the File pull down menu again you should see a check mark next to Trace Options, indicating that trace options output is now enabled.

With Trace Options enabled, you will notice debugging information displayed in the terminal window that isn't normally there by default when SecureCRT is attempting to establish a connection, and at certain times throughout the lifetime of the connection.

Once the problem occurs, you can use the Select All and Copy options from within the Edit menu to transfer the information to the clipboard.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 11:12 AM
dementedgimp dementedgimp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Here is the output...

Hi!
SecureCRT - Version 6.7.4 (build 354)
[LOCAL] : Stream has closed [CLOSE_TYPE_NONSPECIFIC] : Connection refused

Connection refused
There is no firewall on the VPS, 199.68.180.107, by the way.
Thanx ahead,
yours,
Jacques P.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2012, 11:16 AM
dementedgimp dementedgimp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
That was Telnet, sorry...

Hi!
under ssh2, I get:
SecureCRT - Version 6.7.4 (build 354)
[LOCAL] : SSH2Core version 6.7.0.354
[LOCAL] : Connecting to 199.68.180.9:22 ...
[LOCAL] : Stream has closed [CLOSE_TYPE_NONSPECIFIC] : Connection refused
[LOCAL] : Changing state from STATE_NOT_CONNECTED to STATE_CLOSED
[LOCAL] : Connected for 0 seconds, 0 bytes sent, 0 bytes received

Connection refused
thanx ahead,
yours,
Jacques P.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:07 PM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,265
Hi Jacques,

Thanks for the trace options output. Is the IP address you are referencing a remote machine?

If so, then there are a few possibilities. Your machine has a firewall that is blocking outgoing connections. This option seems unlikely.

There is a firewall between you and the remote server that is blocking the connection.

Finally, there is no server listening for connection on the remote machine.

What is a VPS?

What type of connection are you attempting to establish?
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2012, 02:10 PM
dementedgimp dementedgimp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
switched to a different, Virtual Private Server, and it works...

HI!
so it must have been the installation. thanx for your input..
yours,
Jacques P.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2012, 09:38 AM
rtb rtb is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,265
Hi Jacques,

Thanks for the update. I am glad to hear that you found a solution to the issue.

It sounds like there may have been a configuration issue on the old VPS.
__________________
--Todd

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
505-332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 AM.


copyright 1995-2014 VanDyke Software, Inc.