VanDyke Software Forums

Go Back   VanDyke Software Forums > Secure Shell
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2012, 03:31 PM
dadougturnerorg dadougturnerorg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Version Error?

I get this error when connecting to a Unix server, using either SSH1 or SSH2:

The client has disconnected from the server. Reason:
Protocol version mismatch. Required protocol version is 1.3 - 1.99. Received version was 2.0.

Is the server using version 2.0? Or the client? Is this a problem with server configuration, or is there something I can do with the client to correct it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:07 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,808
Hi dadougturnerorg,

That message is from the client and means you have configured SSH1 in the client when the remote server requires version 2.0.

However, you stated you have tried both SSH1 and SSH2. Did you get the exact same error message with each connection attempt?

Are you using SecureCRT?

If so, what version? (Help / About SecureCRT...)
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:18 PM
dadougturnerorg dadougturnerorg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Works with SSH2

Thanks, I must've screwed something up when I was trying to connect with SSH2, because when I went back and tried it again, it established the connection. I am now having problems with userid/password issues on the server, but I don't think that is a SecureCRT issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:25 PM
bgagnon bgagnon is offline
VanDyke Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,808
Hi dadougturnerorg,

Thanks for the update, I am glad to hear you were able to connect.


Quote:
I am now having problems with userid/password issues on the server, but I don't think that is a SecureCRT issue.
Correct, the credentials are a user-level security feature. You might need to talk to the admin of the remote machine to have your account reset if you are locked out.
__________________
Thanks,
--Brenda

VanDyke Software
Technical Support
support@vandyke.com
(505) 332-5730
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ssh1/ssh2 version


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


copyright 1995-2014 VanDyke Software, Inc.