VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   SecureCRT on the Mac (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Permissions warning when securecrt opens (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=11553)

cooler0918 06-10-2014 10:29 AM

Permissions warning when securecrt opens
 
Every time the app is launched I get a permissions warning asking to changes permissions for others in /cores. I can't find that folder.

The permissions on the "/cores" directory need to be changed to include write permission for "other".

Please execute (or ask an admin to execute) the following from a terminal window:

sudo chmod o+w /cores

You can change this behavior by setting the "Create Core Files" parameter in your "Global.ini" to 0.

rtb 06-10-2014 11:13 AM

Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the post. If you create the folder and apply the appropriate permissions, does the error go away?

If you don't want to create the directory, would you try and configure the Global.ini file as indicated?

cooler0918 06-11-2014 08:35 AM

I wouldn't mind creating the directory and setting permission. I am just don't know where on a mac.
  1. Would it be off the root
  2. Off my user directory
  3. Inside the package

As far as the Global.ini, again I don't know where to find it on the mac or where to create it.

rtb 06-11-2014 09:04 AM

Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the update.
Quote:

I wouldn't mind creating the directory and setting permission. I am just don't know where on a mac.
In the UNIX world (Mac OS X underpinnings) "/" is root, so "/cores" would be a directory that exists at root. It is an absolute path.
Quote:

As far as the Global.ini, again I don't know where to find it on the mac or where to create it.
The Global.ini file is located in the configuration folder.

In SecureCRT 7.1 and older, the configuration folder path can be found in the General category of the Global Options dialog.

In SecureCRT 7.2 the configuration folder path is located in the General / Configuration Paths category of the Global Options dialog.

Does this help to answer your questions and by extension eliminate the dialog?

cooler0918 06-11-2014 09:21 AM

Thank you, creating the directory worked.

rtb 06-11-2014 09:34 AM

You are welcome cooler0918. I am glad to hear that this issue is resolved.

carlos 11-02-2017 02:30 PM

I can not find that configuration folder. Help me, please.

carlos 11-02-2017 02:36 PM

Configuration folder can not find
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rtb (Post 41714)
Hi cooler0918,

Thanks for the update.

In the UNIX world (Mac OS X underpinnings) "/" is root, so "/cores" would be a directory that exists at root. It is an absolute path.

The Global.ini file is located in the configuration folder.

In SecureCRT 7.1 and older, the configuration folder path can be found in the General category of the Global Options dialog.

In SecureCRT 7.2 the configuration folder path is located in the General / Configuration Paths category of the Global Options dialog.

Does this help to answer your questions and by extension eliminate the dialog?

I can't find this folder.

bgagnon 11-02-2017 02:49 PM

Hi Carlos,

What version of SecureCRT is installed?

On what specific OS?

Please clarify:

You have located the info in SecureCRT, but cannot find the location where the config folder is supposed to be?

OR:

You cannot find where the config folder info is in SecureCRT?

obiwog 12-13-2017 11:05 AM

Getting same permission error
 
Hello,

I am also getting the dialog about permissions on the /cores directory when launching SecureCRT.

I am running SecureCRT v8.3.1 (Build 1537) on macOS High Sierra 10.13.2.
  • I have tried changing the Global.ini by setting the line D:"Create Core Files"=00000000
  • I have tried creating the directory (didn't originally exist) and setting the file permissions as directed
  • I have even tried trashing my config folder in case it was a left-over from a previous version

None of these change have worked.

bgagnon 12-13-2017 12:09 PM

Hi obiwog,

The original post in this thread is from so long ago, I don't think it's relevant.

Would you attach a screenshot of the dialog?

So you get that dialog as soon as SecureCRT is launched?

Is SecureCRT crashing? If not, do you have an auto session configured?

I have not heard of this issue occurring and I'm unable to replicate it so far.

Quote:

* I have tried creating the directory (didn't originally exist) and setting the file permissions as directed
I have heard the /cores directory won't exist until something crashes, so it's good that it did not exist. :)

Quote:

* I have even tried trashing my config folder in case it was a left-over from a previous version
You are referring to just deleting the files/folders found in the directory that is pointed to in the General / Configuration Paths category of Global Options, correct?

So there was a prior version installed? What version was it?

obiwog 01-02-2018 02:38 PM

Hello,

Here is the dialog that appears at launch:

https://www.hiles.ca/vandyke-support...rtup-error.png

The app comes up normally after clicking the OK button on the error dialog. I do not have an auto session configured.

Previously, I had version 7.3.2 (? not sure about the minor version and patch numbers) installed; I removed that an installed the current version (v8.3.1).

That is correct, I deleted the folder that is pointed to in the General / Configuration Paths category of Global Options.

Cheers,
Paul

bgagnon 01-02-2018 03:24 PM

Hi Paul,

I've been able to replicate, but I don't even know how I got in that state because I was not getting the dialog previously in my SecureCRT installation. :)

As a note, the Global.ini setting mentioned corresponds now to the Create core file when application crashes option available in the General category of Global Options in SecureCRT/Mac. (But whether enabled or disabled, I still get the dialog.)

I have submitted this behavior for investigation by the development team. Should progress be made toward a resolution, or further information be requested, I will post in this thread.

If you prefer direct e-mail notification, contact support@vandyke.com and include "Bug Report - Forum Thread #11553" in the subject line.

guru2 01-15-2018 04:19 AM

License File Permission Issues
 
I believe I am having a similar issue and I am unable to open the product. The issue did not occur in previous releases but seems to occur whenever the program is closed and the system is rebooted or power is lost (or in cases of failures). None of these recommendation below seem to work for me or maybe I lack the full understanding of what is expected to solve this problem. I know its an issue with the permission (as the message states) but when first set up it works with the permissions and appears to write to the directory (NAS).

Additionally, it also appears that each device is added, it tries to default to SSH for remote access and or file copy. This is very ignoring and times additional time to change each time. This additional issue makes we believe that there is an access issue but I have to go through such extreme measures to remove and re-add the program (reformat and then reinstall).

This message was not proofed. Please excuse any grammatical or punctuation errors.

berdmann 01-15-2018 01:35 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hello guru2,

Are you saying you are seeing this exact same error?

https://forums.vandyke.com/attachmen...1&d=1516044563

If so, what happens when you press the "Ok" button?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.