VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Ctrl-Tab functionality (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=564)

habs 03-14-2005 09:05 AM

Ctrl-Tab functionality
 
Hi,

Apologies if this has already been posted.

I'm interested in the Ctrl-Tab functionality being enhanced for SecureCRT 5.0. Specifically, what I'm looking for is to be able to use Ctrl-Tab to navigate between the most-recently used tabs, similar to "Alt-Tab" in Windows.

I know that one can remap Ctrl-Tab to "Previous Tab", but it's not exactly what I am looking for. When one presses "Alt-Tab" in Windows (also "Ctrl-Tab" in the Opera Web Browser), you get a small "mini-window" which shows all of the current open applications. Keeping the Alt button depressed while pressing the Tab button allows you to "shift" between the applications, letting you choose which one you would like to focus on. A small "window" showing all of the active tabs in SecureCRT 5.0, and allowing us to "shift" between them via CTRL-Tab would be ideal.

Incorporating this sort of functionality into SecureCRT 5.0 with its multiple tabs would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :)

Maureen 03-16-2005 06:29 PM

Thanks for the feature request. That's a really cool idea. My guess is that unless we can find a library that does this for us, it would be a fair amount of work to implement. It definitely won't make it into 5.0, but I'd be interested in feedback from others as to how desirable this feature is.

Maureen

toloughlin 03-16-2005 09:49 PM

I think that this is a good idea. I use alt+tab all day long ... and would probably use its equivalent just as much w/in SCRT.

Maureen 03-22-2005 03:02 PM

It definitely won't happen in 5.0, but I've added this feature request to our development database for consideration in a future release.

Maureen

mistwolf 03-23-2005 03:39 PM

I'm actually really suprised this wasn't done to begin with. :) Other apps that do tabs like this, such as FireFox, do use it. I would like to see it added someday. :)

mistwolf 03-23-2005 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mistwolf
I'm actually really suprised this wasn't done to begin with. :) Other apps that do tabs like this, such as FireFox, do use it. I would like to see it added someday. :)

Er. Wait. It /does/ do this now, for me. ctrl-tab cycles my tabs.

EDIT: Ignore me. I COMPLETELY misread this topic. Sorry, sorry.

habs 05-16-2005 08:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maureen
It definitely won't happen in 5.0, but I've added this feature request to our development database for consideration in a future release.

Maureen

Hi Maureen,

I'm just wondering what the status is of possibly implementing this CTRL-TAB functionality into SecureCRT.

Thanks! :)

uahitsc 05-16-2005 08:32 AM

CTRL-TAB works now in beta 5. Prolly worked before, but I did not test it.

I would really rather see the ALT-## become an option for be ALT-## or CTRL-## for direct access to a tab. But this is pretty minor... :cool:

Thank you for your awesome support!
--Will

habs 05-16-2005 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by uahitsc
CTRL-TAB works now in beta 5. Prolly worked before, but I did not test it.

Hi Will,

By "works now in beta 5", do you mean the functionality which I described in my initial post (holding down the control button while hitting tab allows you to shift between open tabs, just like "alt-tab" in Windows) has been implemented? Or does it allow you to simply move left-to-right between all the open tabs? If it's the latter, then that is not sufficient for my needs...

Thanks.

uahitsc 05-16-2005 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by habs
Hi Will,

By "works now in beta 5", do you mean the functionality which I described in my initial post (holding down the control button while hitting tab allows you to shift between open tabs, just like "alt-tab" in Windows) has been implemented?

Sorry, I mis-read your post. I really dont want to see it changed if your looking for it to just toggle the last window like ALT-TAB. The main reason is because all my other major windows applications work in the manner of cycling through windows within application. If SecureCRT did this it would really mess me up.

Now I understand the need for wanting to toggle between two windows... The new version of SecureCRT has really changed the way I manage my terminal sessions. Now with tabs, I basically open two sessions I plan to toggle between on the same instance of securecrt. I would open any other sessions in a seperate window (not a tab). Works for me. Overall I love the new tabs.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.
--Will

habs 05-16-2005 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by uahitsc
Sorry, I mis-read your post. I really dont want to see it changed if your looking for it to just toggle the last window like ALT-TAB. The main reason is because all my other major windows applications work in the manner of cycling through windows within application. If SecureCRT did this it would really mess me up.

Hey Will,

No problem. That's why I think making this functionality an option would be the best for everyone! :)

Maureen 05-16-2005 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by habs
Hi Maureen,

I'm just wondering what the status is of possibly implementing this CTRL-TAB functionality into SecureCRT.

Thanks! :)

This won't make it into 5.0, but it is under consideration for a future release of SecureCRT. If it were to be implemented, it would definitely be an option.

Maureen


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.