VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   Secure Shell (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   SecureCRT / SecureFX File Transfer Not Working (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=13952)

TW80CJ5 10-28-2019 07:40 AM

SecureCRT / SecureFX File Transfer Not Working
 
Good Morning!! I am new to SecureCRT and am evaluating it in my lab.

I am trying to connect to my lab ASA and am getting some errors when I first login and when I am trying to transfer files.

If at first error, I select OK, prompts for a user name, I enter username and select ok. A "Select Public Key File Windows Explorer box opens.I select identity.pub. Second error comes up same as the first.

If I select skip, I am prompted with username and password. I can enter it and go directly into firewall.

When I am in firwall and I select SecureFX, I get the same error prompt. I can select skip and login using username and pw. I will see the disk0:/ directory with files. When I try to transfer a test file from my laptop to disk0:/ I get the same error message.


Here is what I have tried:

I have opened Session Options>SSH2>PublicKey>Properties

I have generated public keys and can browse to it in the documents directory, but it still doesnt work. What am I doing wrong?

bgagnon 10-28-2019 10:42 AM

Hi TW80CJ5,

It does not sound like your remote system supports publickey authentication but SecureCRT/SecureFX is configured to try it first. If you change the order of the authentication methods in the Connection / SSH2 category of Session Options so that password (or keyboard interactive) is first, is the issue resolved?

TW80CJ5 10-28-2019 01:24 PM

Yes! I moved the password up and was able to login without any errors and transfer files.

THANK YOU :)

bgagnon 10-28-2019 02:32 PM

Hi TW80CJ5,

See the relevant tips if you need to make this change:

There is also a video about Default Session on our YouTube Channel.

Note: In order for a "change" to be applied to all other sessions, the Default session's option/field you're targeting must actually be modified/different from its current value. This means that if the targeted field you want to apply to all other sessions is *already* set to the value you want, you must first change it to something *different* (and apply that "change") and then edit the Default session again to set the option to its *desired* value (and apply that "change").

Since you would be making a change that affects many sessions, the recommendation is to export your config as a backup as a best practice. That can be done from the Tools menu (Export Settings), you would just specify an XML file where the info should be exported.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.