VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   Secure Shell (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   SecureCRT Log File not showing all lines (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=2963)

blarose 05-29-2008 03:28 PM

SecureCRT Log File not showing all lines
 
I am using SecureCRT 6.0.2 connecting to an HP ProCurve 5400zl switch via normal telnet and the prompt and what I type is NOT showing up in the log file. The output does, but the prompt line and my command doesn't. The terminal emulation is VT100.

I see the prompt and what I type on the screen and in scrollback.

For example, the following is my prompt and command, which won't show up:

5412zl# sh vlan

The output will show up, but that line won't.

I can't find anything in the settings that would make sense for that problem.

Can anybody offer any advice?

Thanks,

Brian

jjh 05-31-2008 08:42 AM

Hello Brian.

Would you be able to provide a raw log from your session?

The log file may contain information that you might not want
to post to a public forum, so please send it to
support@vandyke.com and reference this forum thread.

Thank you

JJH

blarose 06-01-2008 04:25 PM

I'd be happy to send one in. How exactly shoudl I reference the thread?

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjh
Hello Brian.

Would you be able to provide a raw log from your session?

The log file may contain information that you might not want
to post to a public forum, so please send it to
support@vandyke.com and reference this forum thread.

Thank you

JJH


miked 06-02-2008 01:13 PM

Hi Brian,

Thank you for sending the raw log file via e-mail. We received the files and I am currently reviewing them. It will take a little time to look up the exact escape sequences being sent by the switch, but at first glance it looks like the switch is sending escape sequences which clear the screen and reposition the cursor, among many other things. If the escape sequences clear the screen then the log file is also cleared, unless raw logging is enabled. I'll respond to your e-mail message and be a little more precise about what the escape sequences are doing. Thanks again for sending the files!

rtb 10-13-2011 09:56 AM

Hi All,

We have created a feature request in our development database to add the ability to log all data in the terminal window. Should a future release of SecureCRT have this capability, we will post to this thread.

If you would like to be notified directly, please complete and submit the form at the following location:
Submit Feature Request

jennban 06-26-2019 11:58 AM

Was this ever implemented? I'm continuing to have this same problem on now called Aruba Switches (procurve) both console and ssh.

bgagnon 06-26-2019 12:18 PM

Hi jennban,

It looks like the developers just made a pre-release build available that's designed to log all data that appears in the terminal window (with an INI change), regardless of lack of line ending terminator that prevents it from logging presently.

If you would like to try the pre-release build, please send an email to support@vandyke.com and reference Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #2963 in the subject line.

Making the pre-release build available requires a download account so if not writing from the email address associated with your download account, please include that info in the body of the email.

wouterb 07-22-2019 07:00 AM

CRT not showing all lines
 
Hello Brenda,

I have the same problem, i'm using crt Version 8.5.4 (x64 build 1942) in combination witch aruba 2930M switches.
when i type "show run" i only see the configuration output but not the command i entered.
if there is a solution please let me know.

kind regards,
WouterB

bgagnon 07-22-2019 08:20 AM

Hi WouterB,

If you would like to try the pre-release build, please send an email to support@vandyke.com and reference Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #2963 in the subject line.

Making the pre-release build available requires a download account so if not writing from the email address associated with your download account, please include that info in the body of the email.

erwlan 10-29-2020 04:33 AM

Was this ever resolved? Havind the same issue with HPE/Aruba switches: I only see output in de logging, not the input.

bgagnon 10-29-2020 09:54 AM

Hi erwlan,

As indicated in prior posts, at the time the feature was available in pre-release builds. But that was 2019. That pre-release became v8.7.x. Version 8.7.3 is the current, official release. :)

To enable this feature, you will need to add the following line to the session INI file (and Default.ini if you wish it enabled for all future saved sessions):
  • Take note of config folder location in the General / Configuration Paths category of SecureCRT's Global Options

  • Close all instances of SecureCRT and SecureFX

  • Go to config folder location, inside Sessions subfolder, locate the appropriate INI file(s)

  • Add the following line (it will only pre-exist if you have a new v8.7 config):
    D:"Log Screen"=00000001
  • Save changes
What are your results?

For more information on why this issue occurs at all and how the "Log Screen" option works, please see this FAQ post.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 PM.