VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Portable Version SecureCRT 8.5 - Issue (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=13970)

UsamaWaheed 11-13-2019 04:57 AM

Portable Version SecureCRT 8.5 - Issue
 
Hi,

I want to create a new portable version of my setup. Here is where I stand.
  • I installed it on my laptop and let it go it's default directory which was somewhere in appdata....so something like C:\users\MyUser\AppData\Local\Vandyke\SecureCRT
  • Now I copied the Folder "SecureCRT" on to my Desktop\MySecureCRt
  • Create a new bat file in the MySecureCRT called SecureCRT.bat
  • License file in the SecureCRT folder.
  • -----ALL GOOD TILL HERE-----
  • Config folder is where the issue is, because most of the ini files have entries which point to original installation directory
  • I edited those by changing where-ever {VDS_Config_Variable} is called changed to "..\MySecureCRT\" but whenever I exit SecureCRT a new folder is created on my Desktop called CONFIG and it has two files.. 1- Global.ini & SCRTMenuToolbarV3.ini

Can kindly someone assist with this please. I want everything localized to the MySecureCRT folder, nothing out of it.

P.S: Followed the https://www.vandyke.com/support/tips/usbdrive.html process to get till here.
Thanks.

bgagnon 11-13-2019 01:13 PM

Hi UsamaWaheed,

Quote:

* Config folder is where the issue is, because most of the ini files have entries which point to original installation directory
* I edited those but whenever I exit SecureCRT a new folder is created on my Desktop called CONFIG and it has two files.. 1- Global.ini & SCRTMenuToolbarV3.ini
Did you put the Config folder in the MySecureCRT folder created in this step?
Quote:

* Now I copied the Folder "SecureCRT" on to my Desktop\MySecureCRt

UsamaWaheed 11-13-2019 02:16 PM

Hi Brenda

Thanks for your reply. Yes, the config folder was copies and the bat file was pointing towards the correct location of the copied config folder.

First I tried putting it in SecurCRT folder and I had knownhosts in the config folder...i could see all my saved hosts go there so it took the correct config folder. However, on exiting it went one folder up created config folder with just the files i mentioned earlier.

Then I thought maybe, it needs to be in the root directory (MySecureCRT), did the same but then it went one folder up and created it a config folder on desktop (the parent for MySecureCRT).

Can you guys kindly have a look at the portable process? Try it at your end and share with us all the steps that we need to carry out including editing all the other folder locations and the variable {VDS_CONFIG..}?
I know it's a bit of a hassle but I kindly request if you can help out.

Thanks

bgagnon 11-13-2019 02:34 PM

Hi UsamaWaheed,
Quote:

Can you guys kindly have a look at the portable process? Try it at your end and share with us all the steps that we need to carry out including editing all the other folder locations and the variable {VDS_CONFIG..}?
I know it's a bit of a hassle but I kindly request if you can help out.
I did and it worked exactly as expected.

You should not be editing the INI files at all. It is unnecessary and those variables have a purpose, but they have no bearing on this use case.

Quote:

First I tried putting it in SecurCRT folder and I had knownhosts in the config folder...i could see all my saved hosts go there so it took the correct config folder. However, on exiting it went one folder up created config folder with just the files i mentioned earlier.

Then I thought maybe, it needs to be in the root directory (MySecureCRT), did the same but then it went one folder up and created it a config folder on desktop (the parent for MySecureCRT).
I see. I think you have misinterpreted the original directions. They don't say put the installation directory inside a folder. The install folder *becomes* the target/USB folder (the top level folder). I hope that makes sense?

Basically it sounds like you have SecureCRT inside MySecureCRT but SecureCRT should be the top level folder (then Config subfolder inside) and license file, batch, etc.

Does this help clarify?

If you get rid of the extraneous parent folder MySecureCRT, what are the results?

UsamaWaheed 11-13-2019 02:46 PM

I see what you mean. Let me give it a try, will be in back 15 minutes please.

UsamaWaheed 11-13-2019 02:51 PM

Unfortunately same results :(. How can I show it to you guys?

bgagnon 11-13-2019 03:07 PM

Hi UsamaWaheed,

Do you have write permissions to the USB device?

Please just attach a screenshot that shows the structure of your USB device (redacting anything non-SecureCRT at that top level if you deem it sensitive).

UsamaWaheed 11-13-2019 03:41 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi Brenda,

Currently creating it on my Desktop when all is good will copy it to USB.

So my Folder name is SecureCRT which is currently sitting on the desktop. Think of this as USB Drive. I followed two approaches:
  • When I open it, before there was a folder called SecureCRT, Config & file called SecureCRT.bat (which referenced these two folders)
  • Second approach was what you said the installation fodler SecureCRT copy everything inside it to the USB drive (which I am currentl saying is the SecureCRT Folder on the desktop) --See screenshot attached.

If this does not work, can you kindly share your SecureCRT portable setup minus the license file. I will just put in my license and see what happens.

bgagnon 11-14-2019 07:21 AM

Hello,

Please reply to this inquiry:
Quote:

Do you have write permissions to the USB device?
Because you are getting these extraneous files when you exit from using SecureCRT on the USB, correct? Which means changes have been made and these files need updated but they can't overwrite the existing (Global.ini and the SCRTMenuToolbarV3.ini file are found in Config).

It sounds like you have it set up correctly. I don't think it will change anything to share my setup.

In any "portable" setup:
  • SecureCRT's configuration folder must be named Config.
  • The Config folder must contain the Global.ini, etc. files from your original "Config" folder. It must also contain the Sessions folder in which all of your saved session hierarchy resides.
  • The Config folder must live in exactly the same directory as the SecureCRT.exe application file.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.