VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   SecureCRT on the Mac (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   7.0.0 (build 295) Beta - Mapped Keys Bug? (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=10489)

brettc 05-24-2012 12:01 PM

7.0.0 (build 295) Beta - Mapped Keys Bug?
 
Ever since updating one of our Macs to the version 7 beta, a certain mapped key combination has stopped working.

I use iRAPP (an RDP-clone product for Macs) to remote desktop into this Mac from my Windows 7 PC. To make working remotely in SecureCRT on the Mac more similar to working on the PC, I've created the following Mapped Key for SecureCRT sessions on the Mac:

Key Combination: Shift-HELP (which is actually Shift-Insert on my PC keyboard)
Function: MENU_PASTE

This used to work perfectly, but as soon as I updated to the version 7 beta, it broke. If I try to create a new mapped key and press Shift-Insert, nothing happens. It's as if I haven't pressed any keys. If I try Ctrl-Insert or Shift-Ctrl-Insert, those DO work, registering as Ctrl-HELP and Ctrl-Shift-HELP, respectively.

bgagnon 05-24-2012 01:20 PM

Hello brettc,

I cannot replicate the issue you reported. How did you map the key combination?

Did you use Tools / Keymap Editor?

Or did you save it in the session by configuring the Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys category of SecureCRT's Session Options?


Quote:

This used to work perfectly, but as soon as I updated to the version 7 beta, it broke. If I try to create a new mapped key and press Shift-Insert, nothing happens. It's as if I haven't pressed any keys. If I try Ctrl-Insert or Shift-Ctrl-Insert, those DO work, registering as Ctrl-HELP and Ctrl-Shift-HELP, respectively.
When attempting to reconfigure the mapped key as described above, is this being done at the Mac or remotely via the Windows 7 PC?

brettc 05-24-2012 04:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bgagnon (Post 36555)
I cannot replicate the issue you reported. How did you map the key combination?

Did you use Tools / Keymap Editor?

Or did you save it in the session by configuring the Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys category of SecureCRT's Session Options?

In this case I was configuring Mapped Keys under Session Options, but the same thing happens in the global Keymap Editor.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bgagnon (Post 36555)
When attempting to reconfigure the mapped key as described above, is this being done at the Mac or remotely via the Windows 7 PC?

It's being done remotely via the Windows 7 PC. But I have another identically configured Mac (lets call that Mac 2) that I also access remotely from the same Windows 7 PC where this works. The only difference between the Mac 1 and Mac 2 is that Mac 2 is still running SecureCRT version 6.7.5 and Mac 1 is running the new beta 7.0.0.

The Shift-Insert/Shift-HELP mapped key also worked on Mac 1 right up until it was upgraded. Nothing else has changed.

Brett

bgagnon 05-24-2012 05:00 PM

Hello Brett,

On Mac 1 (SecureCRT v7.0 beta 2), is the mapped keys custom configuration still shown in Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys?

Or are the entries showing the custom keymap missing from the dialog as well?

Please send the following to support@vandyke.com and include "Attn Brenda - Forum Thread #10489" in the subject line.

Be sure to clear any credentials from session .ini files.
  • Session's .ini file from Mac 1 (v7.0 b2)
  • Session's .ini file from Mac 2 (v6.7.5)

brettc 05-25-2012 04:50 PM

Quote:

On Mac 1 (SecureCRT v7.0 beta 2), is the mapped keys custom configuration still shown in Terminal / Emulation / Mapped Keys?

Or are the entries showing the custom keymap missing from the dialog as well?
Yes, the entries are still there after the upgrade. But if I try to delete them and re-create them, it never even registers Shift-Insert as a key combination. Other combinations, like Shift-T, or Ctrl-Shift-Insert register and function normally.

I'll send you the .ini files shortly.

Brett

bgagnon 05-25-2012 05:15 PM

Hi Brett,

Thank, I received them, I will respond via e-mail.

bgagnon 06-12-2012 12:57 PM

Hi all,

Our development team has devised a workaround for this issue. If you experience a similar issue under the same conditions (keymaps do not work during remote access from Windows to SecureCRT for Mac OS X), please contact us for further information.

dangerski 07-01-2012 05:42 AM

When I was testing 7.0 build 318, I noticed the option under Terminal, Emulation, Emacs to
"Use option (ALT) as Meta Key" did not work. Is that the same issue as this thread?

I have since gone back to 6.6, so this isn't affecting me, but thought I would report it.

bgagnon 07-02-2012 10:18 AM

Hi dangerski,

I do not believe it is the same issue as previously reported, but I would like to get additional information.

Is it particular combinations where the Use ALT as meta key functionality seemed to fail in SecureCRT 7.0?

If so, are you saying those same sequences work correctly in SecureCRT 6.6?

What were the specific sequences that failed, if you recall?

dangerski 07-02-2012 04:11 PM

It was all uses of the Option/Alt key.

For example, in a bash shell, Alt-B goes back a word and Alt-F goes forward. It does work correctly in version 6.6.

I don't remember the exact behavior in 7.0. I was trying a lot of combinations to try to make it work. Either it just printed the letter, ie B or F, or it mapped it to an alternate character set, for example I think alt-s printed the German Eszett ()

If you are unable to reproduce this, I can reinstall 7.0 and try again.

--Scott

rtb 11-26-2012 03:16 PM

Hi All,

We have a fix for this problem. If you would like to test it out, please send a message to support@vandyke.com with a subject of Meta-key fix for Mac.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.