VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Annoying message in SCRT 7.0.3 (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=10943)

amalvernite 03-15-2013 10:58 AM

Annoying message in SCRT 7.0.3
 
When upgrading secure CRT from version 6.1.4 to V7.0.3 I now get a window that pops up every time I open a new session that says "New functionality has been added to the toolbar and/or menu bar. If you choose to update your toolbar and menu bar, your customizations will be lost. Would you like to update the toolbar and menu bar?"

I assume this is happening because it pulled the configuration from the old version, but although I select yes to update the toolbar and menu I get that same message EVERY time I create a new connection to an existing session.

This is getting very annoying and I would appreciate if anyone knows how I can get it to stop. I don't want to get rid of all of my existing configuration and start over but if I have to I will.

Thanks in advance..

bgagnon 03-15-2013 11:24 AM

Hello amalvernite,

I apologize for the issue that is occurring.

Around version 6.5 the file(s) responsible for the default menu and toolbar were changed from .xml files to .ini files.

Have you ever customized the menu or toolbar?

Quote:

I don't want to get rid of all of my existing configuration and start over but if I have to I will.
If not, you do not need to get rid of your entire config, but I would suggest you delete/rename the "old style" toolbar and this will allow a new one to be configured that matches the version you are using.

The location of your installation's Configuration folder is found in the General category of SecureCRT's Global Options.

Inside the config folder, you should find a file named SCRTMenuToolbar.xml.

If you quit SecureCRT, rename this file to SCRTMenuToolbar_old.xml and restart, what are the results?

amalvernite 03-15-2013 11:34 AM

Thank You!
 
That appears to be exactly what I needed. Thanks again..

amalvernite 03-15-2013 11:39 AM

SCRTMenuToolbar.xml
 
Should I now go ahead and delete the SCRTMenuToolbar.xml file?

bgagnon 03-15-2013 11:42 AM

Hi amalvernite,

Great, I am glad to hear the issue is resolved.

Sure, if you made no customizations to menu/toolbar and renaming the file resolved the issue, feel free to delete the old toolbar/menu file.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 PM.