VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   SecureCRT 5.1/SecureFX 3.1/VShell 2.6 Beta (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   All connections opening in new tab. (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=735)

Cyber Dog 04-30-2005 02:18 AM

All connections opening in new tab.
 
I'm currently using SecureCRT 5 beta 4 (and have used all the past betas as well. Starting with this version I've noticed a problem with the Connect option. For whatever reason, Connect opens in a new tab rather than a new window. Basically File>Connect and File>Connect in Tab function exactly the same; both open the new connection in a new tab. This also affects alt+b and alt+c. Using Windows XP Pro SP2.

linux-tech 05-02-2005 02:22 AM

If you use ctrl-c to open up the session, is "open in new tab" checked? If so, this would be why they're all opening up in a new tab.
Personally, I love the "tab" feature, it's one of the things I missed most about Konsole (using KDE), the ability to open up windows in tabs like this. It's quite helpful. In fact, it's the only reason I actually paid for the upgrade to 5.

Cyber Dog 05-02-2005 12:23 PM

Ok, it is...now I feel kinda stupid. :D

But still, something seems amiss here. I know in previous betas this wasn't the default behavior. And why do we have two methods of doing this; I find it confusing that there's both the Connect and Connect in Tab options are available when Connect can already connect via tab. I hadn't even looked for the checkbox because I had made the basic assumption that the Connect menu was as opposed to the explicit Connect to Tab menu.

And yes, I live for the new tabs...I actually requested this feature way back before the 5 series came around. Great stuff!

Maureen 05-03-2005 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cyber Dog
Ok, it is...now I feel kinda stupid. :D

But still, something seems amiss here. I know in previous betas this wasn't the default behavior. And why do we have two methods of doing this; I find it confusing that there's both the Connect and Connect in Tab options are available when Connect can already connect via tab. I hadn't even looked for the checkbox because I had made the basic assumption that the Connect menu was as opposed to the explicit Connect to Tab menu.

The reason there are two ways to do this is because people requested a "Connect in Tab" menu item since they're used to seeing this in other applications such as Mozilla/Firefox. However, longtime CRT/SecureCRT users are used to selecting "Connect" or Alt+C and we wanted those people to have the ability to open their sessions in a tab.

A suggestion was made to have the "Connect in Tab" menu item be changed to "New Tab" and have it create a blank tab that could be connected to. This would be more like what Firefox does. I don't know if we'd be able to implement it in 5.0, but I'd be interested in opinions on whether this would be better (or make more sense) to people than the current implementation. It would add a step to the connection process.

Maureen

Cyber Dog 05-06-2005 03:09 AM

Is the Open in Tab checkbox in the Connect dialog selected by default? I don't have a fresh installation right now so I can't test. If it is, then I would consider that counter intuitive and a problem. As far as I'm concerned, there's two options, each of which applies to one menu item or alt combo. It would not make sense to me to have Open In Tab enabled by default in Connect, because this would essentially create two menus that do the same thing... On the other hand if the checkbox is disabled by default, I suppose there's really little problem; I can just ignore it.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.