VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Quick Button Bar 'string' question (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=12673)

Chris2NyCE 04-21-2017 01:02 PM

Quick Button Bar 'string' question
 
Trying to set up a few buttons that run authentication commands/passwords for things such as SSH or Enable mode.

I create a sting command of: en\r\p 7@11big!!b|ue \r
(Example password)

It starts enable, but fails to authenticate as i dont think its entering in the type i provided.

Ive tried "7@11big!!b|ue" or '7@11big!!b|ue' to make sure it doesnt think its running a shortkey, but it still fails.

What string do i need to enter to make it

>Enable
enter
>7@11big!!b|ue
enter

I know im probably missing something small

ekoranyi 04-21-2017 01:23 PM

Hi Chris2NyCE,

It looks like the issue may be with spaces. It appears for readability you've added some spaces. SecureCRT sends the literal string so you password is being entered as " 7@11big!!b|ue " with a preceding and trailing space.

If you change your string to en\r\p7@11big!!b|ue\r does this change the behavior?

Another issue would crop up of you are using \ in your password. Because this is a special character you need to escape it. This is done by doubling it up like \\. So a password of p4SS\w0rd become p4SS\\w0rd.

Chris2NyCE 04-21-2017 01:26 PM

See now i feel dumb :)

Removing the spaces on one and doubling the characters fixed both passwords.

Appreciate the help!!!

ekoranyi 04-21-2017 02:00 PM

Hi Chris2NyCE,

I'm glad to hear you are able to get them working.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the button bar stores all its strings in plain text in the button bar .ini file. Navigating to your Config folder and opening ButtonBarV4.ini in notepad will reveal these passwords....

Have a great weekend and don't hesitate to reach out if you have any other questions.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.