VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   duplicate button on multiple button bars (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=12532)

abctx007 11-09-2016 12:50 PM

duplicate button on multiple button bars
 
hi
I saved string with name as button1 and i saved the same button in multiple button bars but whenever i change content in button1 i am forced to change the same in multiple button bars. is there anyway i can create button1 in one single button bar and call the same button on multiple bars so whenever i change content on button1 its reflects on multiple bars. i tried searching via functions when creating button but not able to figure out. appreciate your help.

jdev 11-09-2016 02:37 PM

There isn't currently a way in SecureCRT to "link" Send String buttons so that you can edit one copy of the button and have the text automatically updated in all of the other copies of that button.

I've added a feature request for you.

In the mean time, you might be able to take advantage of using a script instead, and map a button to a script that will send text for you so that you can keep the text in one place and edit it only once when it needs to change.

Can you tell me more about the text you're sending with this copied button?

What special escape characters are you including in the text of the Send String button definition? (\r \n \e \p \v etc...)

--Jake

abctx007 11-09-2016 03:12 PM

Thanks Jake for your reply. i enter passwords(just password\r) and cannot store at global level as we use multi factor authentication but i will use your suggestion to store in file and call via script


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.