VanDyke Software Forums

VanDyke Software Forums (https://forums.vandyke.com/index.php)
-   Secure Shell (https://forums.vandyke.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Bulk change of saved or auto-connect login credentials (https://forums.vandyke.com/showthread.php?t=13907)

mrigs 09-17-2019 10:33 PM

Bulk change of saved or auto-connect login credentials
 
Hello All,

Our Org has recently provided me SecureCRT to use to SSH connect to dozens of *nix boxes that I have to work on. I would like to know if there is a way to be able to change all the passwords in bulk in some kind of a login script or command that will not have me login to these boxes and change them manually every time I change my password.

For example, in the PuTTY world we used to have the handy

-l <userName> -pw <password>

in which I can change the credentials in bulk for multiple boxes.

I am using Version 8.5.2 (x64 build 1799) on Windows 10.

Sorry, if this has been answered earlier. I wasn't able to find it. :confused: Please help!

Thank you
M

bgagnon 09-18-2019 08:51 AM

Hi mrigs,

There is, but first I would like to find out where your credentials are saved because with Logon Actions, it is imperative that all your sessions are formatted the same way.

First, of course, you would always want to make a backup of your config (Tools -> Export Settings) in case something goes awry.
  • Are your credentials saved in the Connection / SSH2 category? (Username just in the field available, but after choosing Password -> Properties... button, is Store Password enabled?)

  • Or is Automate logon enabled in Connection / Logon Actions and your credentials being sent by those Expect/Send sequences?

mrigs 09-18-2019 10:38 PM

Thank you for the response, Brenda. I was currently having my passwords saved with this option -

Quote:

Are your credentials saved in the Connection / SSH2 category? (Username just in the field available, but after choosing Password -> Properties... button, is Store Password enabled?)
I couldn't actually get this other option to work to connect to my Linux/AIX servers -

Quote:

Or is Automate logon enabled in Connection / Logon Actions and your credentials being sent by those Expect/Send sequences?
I am sure it works, but probably will take the noob in me a little more time to get used to it!

Please do let me know what can be done to solve my situation with the credentials.

Best,
M

bgagnon 09-19-2019 09:09 AM

Hi mrigs,

OK, Default Session is the way to bulk change the credentials then.

It can also be done when they are configured in Logon Actions, but you have to be careful that all sessions have the same number of entries and the same format as explained in this post by jdev.

Quote:

I am sure it works, but probably will take the noob in me a little more time to get used to it!
I'm not sure what difficulty you had, but if you do have credentials in the SSH2 location then that may interfere with what you were trying to configure in Logon Actions.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 AM.